British Composer Awards open for entries

British Composer Awards

Submissions are now open for the 15th edition of the British Composer Awards (BCA).

Taking place on Wednesday 6 December at the British Museum in London, the awards are looking for composers to submit entries across 11 categories.

The awards are open to all composers born in the UK, or who have been UK residents from 1 April 2012 until 31 March 2017. No entry fee is required.

Last year’s BCA event saw 13 composers honoured, including first time winners Claudia Molitor, Tansy Davies and Mark Bowden. Four of the winning composers were supported through the PRS Foundation including John Webb, Tansy Davies, Jennifer Walshe and Joe Cutler.

The deadline for submissions for the 2017 awards is 11.59pm on Tuesday 4 July 2017.

All entries are to be submitted online via the British Composer Awards entry site.

The awards are presented by the British Academy of Songwriters, Composers and Authors (BASCA), sponsored by PRS for Music and will be broadcast on BBC Radio 3.