The 57th Ivor Novello Awards winners


Adele has been named Songwriter of the Year at the 57th Ivor Novello Awards, while Take That received the PRS for Music Outstanding Contribution to British Music gong and Siouxsie Sioux took The Ivors Inspiration Award.

Adele was also recognised in the PRS for Music Most Performed Work category, alongside Paul Epworth, for their song Rolling in the Deep. However, newcomer Ed Sheeran beat them to the Best Song Musically and Lyrically gong with hit single The A Team.

At the ceremony, which took place this afternoon at the Grosvenor House Hotel on Park Lane in London, PJ Harvey was awarded the coveted Album Award for Let England Shake, while Justin Parker and American artist Lana del Rey took the Best Contemporary Song Award for their ubiquitous Videogames.

Former Spandau Ballet guitarist and songwriter Gary Kemp received the Outstanding Song Collection Award while piano legend Stan Tracey was recognised for his remarkable career spanning more than 60 years with The Ivors Jazz Award.

The Lifetime Achievement Award went to Dire Straits’ Mark Knofler, while composer Alex Heffes took the award for Best Original Film Score for his work on The First Grader.
The Ivor Novello Awards celebrate, honour and reward excellence in songwriting and composing. They are presented by BASCA in association with PRS for Music and judged by the songwriting and composing community.

Previous winners include Sir Paul McCartney, David Bowie, Amy Winehouse, Sting, Annie Lennox and Radiohead.

Full list of winners:

Best Contemporary Song
Video Games Written by: Lana Del Rey / Justin Parker. Performed by: Lana Del Rey.
UK Publishers: EMI Music Publishing / Sony/ATV Music Publishing

PRS for Music Most Performed Work
Rolling In The Deep  Written by: Adele Adkins / Paul Epworth. Performed by: Adele
UK Publishers: Universal Music Publishing / EMI Music Publishing

Best Television Soundtrack
The Shadow Line Composed by: Martin Phipps.
UK Publishers: Du Vinage Publishing Ltd

The Ivors Jazz Award
Stan Tracey

Album Award
Let England Shake Written and Performed by: PJ Harvey.
UK Publishers: EMI Music Publishing / Hot Head Music

Outstanding Song Collection 
Gary Kemp

The Ivors Inspiration Award
Siouxsie Sioux

Best Original Film Score
The First Grader Composed by: Alex Heffes
UK Publishers: Fintage Publishing BV / Resonant Music (1) Limited Partners

PRS for Music Outstanding Contribution to British Music
Take That

Best Song Musically and Lyrically
The A Team Written and Performed by: Ed Sheeran
UK Publisher: Sony/ATV Music Publishing

Lifetime Achievement
Mark Knopfler

Songwriter of the Year
Adele Adkins

PRS for Music Special International Award 
Jimmy Webb

The Ivors Fellowship
Andrew Lloyd Webber