Gold Badge Awards in pictures

Last week’s Gold Badge Awards drew some of the music industry’s leading lights to The Savoy Hotel in London, where 12 recipients were presented with a gold tuning fork label badge and certificate of honour. M went along to find out more.

Every year the event acknowledges the skill, devotion and commitment each recipient has invested in UK music, and rewards people from all fields including songwriters and composers, producers and promoters, and all those who play a supporting role in the industry.

This year’s winners included singer-songwriter Joan Armatrading, Simply Red frontman Mick Hucknall and producer John Leckie, who is best-known for his work on The Stone Roses debut album.

Choreographer and TV judge Arlene Phillips and actor Dennis Waterman, who sang the theme to TV series Minder, both received an award, alongside PRS for Music Benevolent Fund chairman Ray Davies and Youth Music Chief Executive Christina Coker.

Nigel Elderton, MCPS Chairman at PRS for Music said: ‘This year’s Gold Badge Awards celebrates the very best of our industry, from those in the spotlight to those that play a supporting role.  Each recipient’s contribution to the music business has been significant and they are all worthy winners of this prestigious award.

‘As a publisher I applaud the fact that these awards recognise those men and women at the heart of our industry, who collectively play such an important role in making the music we all love. From the writers, to the producers, promoters, performers and those that play a supporting role, the Gold Badge celebrates them all.’

Hucknall used his acceptance speech to call for more emphasis on songwriting in the wider entertainment industry, suggesting an X-Factor-style show based on composition.

‘Where are [the next generation of composers]? They are out there. They are not being nurtured. We are a certain age and we want to see a legacy of young people achieving what we achieved,’ he said.

‘I hope we can nurture something for the future and get composing to the front, to say this is very important. We’ve given so much to the world as a nation through composing, not only pop stars. Our greatest gift is our songwriters and we need to nurture that on a national basis on television to rekindle that extraordinary legacy we have.’

[slider_pro id=”5″]


The event marked the 38th Gold Badge Awards, and was held by BASCA in association with PRS for Music.

Full list of recipients:
Joan Armatrading
Tony Burrows
Christina Coker
Ray Davies
Christopher Gunning
Mick Hucknall
John Leckie
Arlene Phillips
Mike Read
Mike Ross-Trevor
Clare Teal
Dennis Waterman