British Composer Awards 10th anniversary concert

British Composer Awards, BASCAThe British Academy of Songwriters, Composers and Authors (BASCA) will mark the 10th Anniversary of the British Composer Awards with a concert on London’s Southbank next month.

The concert will include eleven works from the Awards’ history, performed by the joint forces of Endymion and the Vasari Singers.

It will take place on 5 December at the Purcell Room, Queen Elizabeth Hall, and the programme features both choral and chamber works that have won the Awards since its inception in 2003.

The earliest piece is Gabriel Jackson’s O Doctor Optime, winner of the Liturgical Award in 2003, and the most recent work is Anthony Payne’s String Quartet No. 2 which won last year’s Chamber Award.

Four winning works from 2008 will also feature: Michael Zev Gordon’s This Night (Choral Award); James MacMillan’s The Canticle of Zachariah and Data est mihi omnis potestas (Liturgical Award); Judith Bingham’s Fantasia (Instrumental Solo/Duo Award); and Joe Cutler’s Folk Music (Chamber Award).

Sir John Tavener and Sir Harrison Birtwistle, who have been nominated on many occasions, are represented by Ex Maria Virgine (Liturgical Award 2009) and Crowd (Instrumental Solo/Duo Award 2007) respectively; Ruth Byrchmore by A Birthday (Liturgical Award 2005); Tarik O’Regan Threshold of Night (Liturgical Award 2007); and Gary Carpenter by Azaleas, winner of the Chamber Award 2006.

Tickets are £15, with concessions available. Click here to book.

The concert follows the 10th British Composer Awards at Goldsmiths’ Hall on Monday 3 December. The shortlist was announced on 25 October.