NCEM Young Composers Award 2016 winners revealed

alex dakin kristina arakelyan

Rising composers Alex Dakin and Kristina Arakelyan have won the National Centre for Early Music’s (NCEM) Young Composers Award 2016.

Dakin triumphed in the 18 years and under category with his piece Sonnet 147, which will receive its premiere by the Theatre of Ayre this autumn.

Arakelyan’s piece Penelope won in the 19 to 25 years category and will also be premiered by the Ayre Theatre.

Both will be broadcast on BBC Radio 3’s Early Music Show later this year.

The NCEM Young Composers Award 2016 is presented in partnership with BBC Radio 3 and Theatre of the Ayre.

This year, young composers, resident in the UK, were invited to create a contemporary response to the lute. The music had to set one of four selected poems by William Shakespeare or Carol Ann Duffy.

Eight finalists were selected and invited to the National Centre for Early Music in York on 12 May, where their entries were presented by Theatre of the Ayre’s Elizabeth Kenny in a workshop led by composer Christopher Fox.

Delma Tomlin, director of the NCEM said: ‘The NCEM Young Composers Award 2016 workshop offered us all a fascinating insight into a 21st century vision of the English lute song, utilising some of the most flawless poems ever written and beautifully presented by lutenist Elizabeth Kenny and singers Anna Starushkevych and Nicholas Mulroy.

‘Each musician generously offered their own thoughts and interpretations of the music, working with each individual composer to create something truly unique.  A remarkable day for all concerned.’

The performance of the shortlisted entries was recorded and is available at:

Share this

Subscribe to our RSS Feed