PRS Foundation reveal latest Composers’ Fund recipients

The latest round of composers will receive grants of up to £10,000 to support the development of their careers.

Seven composers have been chosen in total including Alexander Campkin, Emma Ruth Richards, Errollyn Wallen, and Quinta.

Speaking about her successful application, Quinta says: ‘I’m not embarrassed to say I danced around the house when my successful grant letter arrived! Enormous thanks to PRSF for recognising what we music-makers actually want and need to do, and supporting us to do it! I feel honoured and lucky to have been given an award from The Composer’s Fund and can’t wait to get adventuring!’

Alexander Campkin says: ‘I am thrilled to receive this award from The Composers’ Fund. It will allow me time to compose music for choir and string orchestra for a new CD recording with the Chamber Choir of Europe and conductor Nicol Matt.’

Nicola LeFanu, Simon Dobson, and Stephen McNeff will also receive grants to support their work.

The Composers’ Fund was created following PRS Foundation’s research in 2014, which explored the challenges composers face when striving to steer the next stage of their careers.

The research revealed that composers struggle with funding, low commission fees, pressurised working conditions, decreased opportunities and lack of support.

The fund was launched by PRS Foundation in 2016 with support from the Esmée Fairbairn Foundation, with the aim of supporting the professional and creative development of talented composers.

For more information about the Composer’s Fund, please visit

Share this

Subscribe to our RSS Feed