Featured artist: Tayla

tayla music

Who? Tayla Malcolm.

What? Day-glo pop with plenty of bounce.

From where? Birmingham.

What’s the story? Straight-up songsmith Tayla doesn’t mess about. Her debut single Call Me Danger, out now on The Shooting Gallery Recordings/SYPM, is a nifty, tricksy exercise in after-hours pop.

Coming on like a mash up between nineties R&B bangers and early eighties electro, it’s got enough swagger to catch the ears of i-D, Noisey and Crack – all of whom are tipping her as a serious contender going into 2017.

In the video, Tayla and her friends take to the streets of London in cabs and rickshaws, causing havoc across town.

She explains her manifesto: ‘Call Me Danger is about feeling 100 percent confident and not giving a flying fuck about what anyone else thinks. Going out, having your look on point, feeling killer sexy and having the attitude to back it up.

Since its release, Tayla has spent two days in the studio with Rudimental, and is also working with Mr Watt (who produced her debut) and Dimitri Tikovoi.

With a second single and live dates in the diary for late November – and all ears primed – it looks like Tayla’s star is rising fast.

Sounds like? This one’s definitely for fans of Nao, Major Lazer and Kehlani.

Must hear? Call Me Danger

https://www.facebook.com/TaylaMusic/

Share this

Subscribe to our RSS Feed