2010 MOBO Awards nominees announced

Rapper Tinie Tempah has received four nominations for this year’s MOBO Awards, which takes place at the Liverpool Arena on 20 October.

Tempah is up for Best Song for debut single Pass Out, and Best Video for follow-up Frisky.  He has also received nods for Best Newcomer, and Best UK Act.

Other nominations for Best Song (in association with PRS for Music) are Taio Cruz, N-Dubz and Mark Ronson and The Business ITNL.

Also competing for Best UK Act is a lengthy list of nominees including Jay Sean, Tinchy Stryder, N-Dubz, JLS, Dizzee Rascal, Plan B and Leona Lewis.
The shortlist for Best Album includes Plan B’s The Defamation of Strickland Banks, JLS’s JLS, N-Dubz’s Against All Odds, Chipmunk’s I Am Chipmunk and Dizzee’s Tongue n’ Cheek.

Of the 12 categories, eight are voted for exclusively by members of the public at www.mobo.com.

MOBO Awards CEO and founder Kanya King said: ‘I am very proud of the level of talent in the UK today and extremely pleased with the dominance of MOBO music artists in the charts both here and in the US, what a massive change compared to when we started 15 years ago.

‘In the past year alone we have seen two out of every three number one hits were from urban artists.’

The full list of nominations is as follows:
Best Newcomer – Tinie Tempah, Professor Green, Scorcher, Labrinth, Devlin.
Best UK Act (in association with Lebara Mobile) – Tinie Tempah, Jay Sean, Tinchy Stryder, Taio Cruz, Chipmunk, N-Dubz, Giggs, JLS, Roll Deep, M.I.A, Dizzee Rascal, Alexandra Burke, Sade, Plan B, Leona Lewis.
Best Song (in association with PRS for Music) – Taio Cruz ft Ke ha – Dirty Picture, Tinie Tempah – Pass Out, N-Dubz ft Mr Hudson – Playing With Fire, Mark Ronson & The Business Intl ft Q-Tip & Mndr – Bang, Bang, Bang, Professor Green ft Ed Drewett – I Need You Tonight.
Best UK R&B/Soul – Sade, Natalie Williams, Corinne Bailey Rae, McLean, Plan B.
Best UK Hip-Hop/Grime – Giggs, Professor Green, Skepta, Akala, Wiley.
Best International Act – Drake, Alicia Keys, Jay-Z, Rihanna, Eminem, Janelle Monae, Black Eyed Peas, Nicki Minaj, Ne-Yo, Usher, Beyonce, Jason Derulo, Lil Wayne, Travie McCoy, Trey Songz.
Best Reggae Act – Damian Marley, Mavado, Gyptian, Vybz Kartel, Gappy Ranks.
Best Album – Plan B – The Defamation of Strickland Banks, JLS – JLS, N-Dubz – Against All Odds, Chipmunk – I Am Chipmunk, Dizzee Rascal – Tongue N’ Cheek.
Best Video (in association with MTV Base) – Mark Ronson & The Business Intl ft Q-Tip & Mndr – Bang, Bang, Bang, Tinie Tempah ft Labrinth – Frisky, Tinchy Stryder – You’re Not Alone, Alesha Dixon – Drummer Boy, Dizzee Rascal – Dirtee Disco.
Best African Act – K’Naan (Somalia), P-Square (Nigeria), Hip Hop Pantsula (South Africa), JJC (Nigeria), Banky W (Nigeria), Concha Buika (Equatorial Guinea), Mulatu Astatke (Ethiopia), Wanlov the Kubolor (Ghana), Angelique Kidjo (Benin), M3nsa (Ghana), Yuri Da Cunha (Angola), Tinny (Ghana) Waldemar Bastos (Zimbabwe), Staff Benda Bilili (Congo-Kinshasa), BLK JKS (South Africa).
Best Gospel Act – Faith Child, Guvna B, Rachel Kerr, Jake Isaac, Beverley Trotman.
Best Jazz Act – Robert Glasper – Double Booked, Brad Mehldau – Highway Rider, Empirical – Out ‘n’ In, Phronesis – Alive, John McLaughlin – To the One

Share this

Subscribe to our RSS Feed