AIM Awards 2019 winners revealed

South London rapper Dave and punk five-piece IDLES (pictured) were the big winners at the AIM Awards 2019 last night (Tuesday), picking up two trophies each.

The MC took home the award for Best Independent Album for his debut longplayer Psychodrama, and the Best Independent Track accolade for Funky Friday feat. Fredo.

IDLES received Best [Difficult] Second Album Award for Joy as an Act of Resistance and the UK Independent Breakthrough accolade. The awards follow the band’s 2018 win, when they picked up the Hardest Working Band Award.

IDLES’ creative home, Partisan Records, also got to share in the limelight, receiving Best Independent Label. Its roster includes fellow AIM Award nominees Fontaines D.C as well as Cigarettes After Sex and John Grant.

Elsewhere, Jade Bird took home International Breakthrough while Hot Chip won Best Video for their surreal anti-rom-com Hungry Child.

Freya Ridings picked up the PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Artist while Scottish singer-songwriter Gerry Cinnamon was the winner of the Best Live Act, having successfully gained the most support in the public vote.

Blondie frontwoman Debbie Harry was also on hand to pick up the Outstanding Contribution Award, while The Smiths’ Johnny Marr received the Pioneer Award.

Paul Pacifico, AIM chief executive, said: ‘The list of winners tonight reflects the boldness of the independent community – artists and labels who are unafraid to push the boundaries and take risks to produce some of the UK’s most cutting-edge cultural output.

‘As we celebrate AIM’s 20th year championing independence, it’s amazing to see that creative spirit celebrated in this way at a venue like the Roundhouse.’

Full list of winners

Best Live Act
Gerry Cinnamon

Best Small Label
Scruff of the Neck

Best Creative Packaging
Various Artists, handpicked and curated in collaboration with the Rolling Stones, Confessin’ the Blues

UK Independent Breakthrough

Outstanding Contribution to Music
Debbie Harry

Best Independent Album
Dave Psychodrama

Best [Difficult] Second Album
IDLES Joy as an Act of Resistance

PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Artist
Freya Ridings

International Breakthrough
Jade Bird

Innovator Award
Allen Kovac

Best Independent Video
Hot Chip Hungry Child

Best Independent Track
Dave Funky Friday (feat. Fredo)

One To Watch

Best Independent Label
Partisan Records

Pioneer Award
Johnny Marr

Indie Champion
Charles Caldas

Share this

Subscribe to our RSS Feed