AmericanaFest UK returns with new theme

Mary Gauthier and Baylen Leonard have revealed that the three-day celebration will take place in Hackney, London, in January with the theme of ‘Collaborate and Cross Pollinate,’ and will culminate with the UK Americana Awards.

Next year’s theme reflects on how Americana artists work together across different genres and art forms and the keynote speaker will be Joan Armatrading, with further speakers being announced in the run up to the festival.

The UK Americana Awards 2020 will take place on 30 January and after four sold out years moves to a bigger venue, Troxy in Limehouse, London.

The awards are set to recognise a wide range of talent across the genre, including nominated artists Yola, Frank Turner, Jade Bird, Mavis Staples, Larkin Poe, Highwomen, Ida Mae and Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real.

The events special awards have been announced and feature Joan Armatrading (Lifetime Achievement Award), Nick Lowe (Trailblazer Award), Mark Whitfield – (Grassroots Awards), Ferris and Sylvester (Emerging Artist Award) and Lonnie Donegan (Legend Award).

On 27 January Hackney’s OSLO will be host to an extra special Charity Kick-off event – Americana Clash.

The conference begins on 28 January at Hackney Picturehouse where Joan Armatrading will deliver a keynote address, then over the evening of the 28 and 29 January 75 artists from UK, USA, Canada, Australia and Europe showcasing across 8 venues in Hackney.

For more information, please visit Tickets are available here.

The full list of Nominees is as follows:

UK Instrumentalist of The Year
Ben Smith
Jim Maving
Sia?n Monaghan
Will Page

UK Song of The Year
Little Piece of Heaven
by Elles Bailey (Written by Elles Bailey, Bobby Wood and Dan Auerbach)
The Fire
by Jamie Freeman (Written by Jamie Freeman and Ben Glover)
Hear Your Voice
by Danni Nicholls (Written by Danni Nicholls and Kyshona Armstrong)
by Roseanne Reid (Written by Roseanne Reid)

UK Album of The Year
Here There’s No Sirens
by Pete Gow (produced by Joe Bennett )
Chasing Lights
by Ida Mae (produced by Ethan Johns)
Bleeding on the Soundtrack
by William the Conqueror (produced by Ethan Johns)
Walk Through Fire
by Yola (produced by Dan Auerbach)

UK Artist of The Year
Jade Bird
Bear’s Den
Frank Turner

International Song of The Year
Turn Off The News
(Build A Garden) by Lukas Nelson & Promise of The Real (written by Lukas Nelson & Promise of The Real)
Letter to Madeline
by Ian Noe (written by Ian Noe)
Saying Goodbye
by J.S. Ondara (written by J.S. Ondara)
Me and The Ghost of Charlemagne
By Amy Speace (written by Amy Speace)

International Album of The Year
by Felice Brothers (produced by Jeremy Backofen)
Highwomen by Highwomen
(produced by Dave Cobb)
Songs Of Our Native Daughters
by Our Native Daughters (produced by Rhiannon Giddens and Dirk Powell)
Mint Condition
by Caroline Spence (produced by Dan Knobler)

International artist of The Year
Brandi Carlile
The Dead South
Larkin Poe
Mavis Staples

Share this

Subscribe to our RSS Feed