Artists release record to raise funds for Music Minds Matter

The album Smoke Rainbows has been created to support Help Musicians UK’s Music Minds Matter mental health support service.

The unique, collectable compilation album is scheduled for release on 17 May during Mental Health Awareness week and features contributions from The Magic Numbers, Magic Lantern, The Blow Monkeys, Charlie Wood, The Leisure Society and more.

The album was recorded at Abbey Road Studio 2, with each act recording their performance in one take with no edits or overdubs.

The project originally began with IC publisher Karousel Music and York St John University, before they teamed up with Help Musicians UK, and Monks Road, and ivited 12 artists to record across four days as part of York St John’s annual music production project.

The Magic Lantern says: ‘I know I’m lucky to be a musician, it’s what I love to do. But it’s not always easy to put yourself out there. So much of what I’m trying to do with my music is to try and express both the complexities and the beauties of life.

‘I’m such a big fan of Help Musicians UK because they get it, and they’re there for musicians when they really need it. They’ve got my back and that means everything. I hope this record will help others to appreciate the work they do for musicians and support them.’

Chris Sheehan, chief executive officer, Karousel Music commented: ‘Musicians are the first people to stand up and raise money for charity, even when they’re struggling to make ends meet themselves. But who raises for them? We felt it was about time we did something for those musicians who need the help that this remarkable charity gives – some are retired and have given their lives to music, some are mid-career and facing a health or financial crisis; and some are just starting out.

‘We passionately believe in the work Help Musicians UK does for our musical family, and we hope people out there will join us in raising money for the charity’s vital service Music Minds Matter, which has become part of the album’s title.’

James Ainscough, chief executive officer, Help Musicians UK, added: ‘This is an album of truly beautiful songs, where the passion and artistry of those involved in creating it shines through. An album of this nature dedicated to the charity is a first for Help Musicians and a huge honour.

‘I would like to thank Chris, Karousel, York St John University, Monk’s Road, Abbey Road and all the incredible artists involved for their precious time and support. At Help Musicians, we want a world where musicians thrive. Supporting the mental health of musicians via the Music Minds Matter listening ear service is an important part of our work. The proceeds from this album will help us continue to reach more musicians in the years ahead – offering a lifetime of support, when it is needed most.’

The Smoke Rainbow tracklisting is as follows:
1. The Leisure Society – Last of the Melting Snow
2. The Magic Numbers – Wayward
3. Penny Police – Take on a Little Love
4. The Magic Lantern – Different Paths
5. Matt Deighton – Overshadowed
6. Rory Butler – Mind your Business
7. Bloom – People Like You
8. Charlie Wood – Grand piano’
9. Ren Harvieu – Little Raven
10. The Blow Monkeys – Fortune’s Wheel
11. Pat Dam Smyth – Where the Light Goes
12. Tyni – Fighter

To purchase the record and help support the Music Minds Matter service, please visit