Belhaven Innovation Award 2019 shortlist announced

Elephant Sessions

Scottish brewery, Belhaven, has announced the shortlist for its Bursary for Innovation Award 2019, which recognizes Scottish folk and traditional artists innovating and distinguishing themselves in their field.

Breabach, Daimh, Fara, Inyal and Nae Plans are among the acts shortlisted for the £25,000 prize. They are joined by Rachel Newton, Siobhan Miller, Talisk and Tide Lines.

The fund, launched last year and won by Elephant Sessions (pictured above), is the largest cash prize in Scotland, financially matched only by the Mercury Prize.

Alongside the prize fund, the award is accompanied by the brewing of a collaboration ale with the winner’s name, as well as an appearance at the Belhaven Brewery Post Parade Party in New York during Tartan Week in April 2019. The winner will also receive a televised advertising campaign featuring their music.

The winner of the award will be announced at MG ALBA Scots Trad Music Awards at Perth Concert Hall on 1 December.

The awards will be broadcast live on BBC ALBA, BBC Radio Scotland and globally through the BBC ALBA website.