British Composer Awards 2017 winners announced

Amateur or Young Performers_Kerry Andrew_British Composer Awards 2017_photo Mark Allan (2)

Kerry Andrew (pictured), Rebecca Saunders and Brian Irvine were among the winners at last night’s (Wednesday) British Composer Awards.

Andrew took home her fourth award to date, winning the Amateur or Young Performers category for Who We Are; a piece composed for a children’s choir which explores the refugee crisis.

Saunders scooped her third award, winning the Chamber Ensemble category for Skin, described by the judges ‘an exceptionally original creation…. that was at once uncomfortable, tender, frightening and poignant.’

Meanwhile, Irvine took home his second British Composer Award for Anything but Bland, a composition celebrating the life and work of Lilian Bland – the first woman to design, build and fly an aeroplane.

Presented by BASCA and sponsored by PRS for Music, the awards honoured the best contemporary compositions that premiered in the UK in the year leading up to 31 March 2017.

Thirteen composers were awarded at the ceremony, with two additional Gift of BASCA awards presented to Shiva Feshareki and Nigel Osborne MBE in recognition of their contribution to new music.

Of the 13 winners, nine have been funded by PRS Foundation including Andrew, Irvine and Cevanne Horrocks-Hopayian, whose winning pieces were directly funded by the music charity.

Other winners on the night included Andrew Hamilton, Emily Howard and Robin Haigh.

Crispin Hunt, Chairman at BASCA, said: ‘The composers honoured this evening are testament to the UK’s thriving and vibrant new music community. Their creations challenge the status quo; push boundaries, celebrate our rich and diverse history, inspire and innovate at every turn.

‘They demonstrate the positive impact of music on all our lives and it is an honour for BASCA to celebrate their achievements this evening.’

British Composer Awards 2017 Winners

Amateur or Young Performers
Who We Are by Kerry Andrew*

Chamber Ensemble
Skin by Rebecca Saunders

Proclamation of the Republic by Andrew Hamilton

Community or Educational Project
Anything but Bland by Brian Irvine*

Contemporary Jazz Composition
Muted Lines by Cevanne Horrocks-Hopayian*

Torus (Concerto for Orchestra) by Emily Howard*

Small Chamber
In Feyre Foreste by Robin Haigh

Solo or Duo
Inside Colour by Deborah Pritchard*

Sonic Art
Luminous Birds by Kathy Hinde*

Stage Works
4.48 Psychosis by Philip Venables*

Wind Band or Brass Band
In Ictu Oculi by Kenneth Hesketh*

British Composer Award for Innovation
Shiva Feshareki*

British Composer Award for Inspiration in association with the Music Publishers Association
Nigel Osborne MBE

* Funded by PRS Foundation