British Music Abroad hosts SXSW party for UK songwriters

UK songwriters and composers will gather in Texas this Friday at the 25th South By South West (SXSW) showcase to celebrate British music overseas.

The party has been organised by British Music Abroad – a partnership between the UK Trade and Industry (UKTI) body, PRS for Music Foundation, Wales Arts International and Arts Council England.

Acts playing live include PRS for Music members Clock Opera, Jonquil and The Good Natured. The gig will kick off at the British Music Embassy in Austin on 18 March 12.15pm, running until 3pm.

PRS for Music Foundation has helped more than 30 bands get to the music industry’s largest annual showcase, including James Blake, Django Django and Random Impulse (full list below). However, a few songwriters have had to pull out due to visa complications.

Over the years the showcase has become a necessity for British songwriters trying to crack the US market, and every year an increasing number of emerging acts attend.

Previously, Muse, Franz Ferdinand and Bloc Party saw a boom in their international popularity having attended the showcase.

This year, British Music Abroad has provided nearly £90,000 to help increase the presence of UK music in Texas. UKTI has also supported nearly 100 music management companies get to SXSW, offering financial support from a pot of around £60,000.

M online will be covering the event all week, with news from Texas and interviews with some of the songwriters who have attended in the past and those who are preparing to go this year.

The SXSW music showcase officially starts tomorrow.

Full line-up of PRS for Music Foundation-funded SXSW acts:
Bear Driver
Bright Light Bright Light
Brown Brogues
Clock Opera
David Thomas Broughton
Django Django
Dry The River
Erland & The Carnival
Goldheart Assembly
High Rankin
James Blake
Juice Vocal Ensemble
Kyla La Grange
Lanterns On The Lake
Matthew and The Atlas
Pulled Apart By Horses
Random Impulse
Still Corners
Summer Camp
The Good Natured
The Lines
The R.G.Morrison
The Travelling Band
This Is The Kit
We Are Animal
We Are The Ocean