BRITs Critics’ Choice Award shortlist announced

rory graham

Anne Marie, Dua Lipa and Rag’n’Bone Man have been announced as the shortlisted artists for the BRITs Critics’ Choice Award.

The Critics’ Choice Award has continued to successfully highlight and identify future British recording talent before it happens with previous winners including Adele, Florence + The Machine and Jack Garratt.

Collectively winners have received Mercury Prize nominations, BRIT Awards and sold almost 60 million albums in the UK.

Commenting, Rag’n’Bone Man said: ‘It’s bonkers that I’ve been nominated for Critics’ Choice. Absolutely bonkers, I’ve been grafting, I built a strong fan base over the years with help from good people that put their faith in me. And now this! I’m very grateful.’

The Critics’ Choice Award is chosen by a team of experts including the music editors of national newspapers, key music and lifestyle magazines and music websites plus the heads of music at major radio and music TV stations. The award is open to signed artists who are set to release their debut albums in 2017 and over 100 artists from a range of genres were considered.

The 2017 Critics’ Choice Award winner will be announced on Thursday 8 December and will be the first recipient of the specially designed Zaha Hadid award, one of the final commissions of her career.

Watch our live session with Rag’n’Bone Man from PRS Presents earlier in the year.

The past Critics’ Choice winners are:

2008 – Adele
2009 – Florence + The Machine
2010 – Ellie Goulding
2011- Jessie J
2012 – Emeli Sandé
2013 – Tom Odell
2014 – Sam Smith
2015 – James Bay
2016 – Jack Garratt