City Music Foundation Programme announces new artists


City Music Foundation (CMF) has revealed the six artists joining its 2018 CMF Artist Programme.

A4 Brass Quartet, Helen Charlston (mezzo-soprano), Toby Hughes (double bass), Ariana Kashefi (cello), Tom Millar (jazz piano), and Emily Sun (violin) make up this year’s crop.

CMF’s mission is to turn promising jazz, folk and classical talent into professional success by equipping artists with the tools, skills, experience and networks they need to build and sustain their careers.

All 2018 artists will undertake a two-year programme, which includes artistic and business mentoring, as well as professional development workshops covering topics such as managing finances, tax and pensions, copyright and contracts, plus promotion and publicity strategies.

Previous CMF Artists include jazz bassist Misha Mullov-Abbado (now a BBC Radio 3 New Generation Artist), Foyle-Stsura Duo, recorder player Tabea Debus, jazz clarinetist and founding member of Kansas Smitty’s Giacomo Smith, soprano Raphaela Papadakis and guitarist Andrey Lebedev.

Share this

Subscribe to our RSS Feed