Competitors announced for BBC Cardiff Singer of the World 2019

Twenty of the world’s best young singers from across 15 countries will compete in the 36th edition of the voice competition, with a cash prize of £20,000.

The biennial competition returns to Cardiff between 15-22 June 2019, and the event’s patron, Dame Kiri Te Kanawa, was tasked with choosing 44 singers alongside Nicholas Payne, to participate in live auditions in six cities around the world.

The competitors were then whittled down to 20 finalist, ten men and ten women, who will travel to Cardiff to compete before a jury comprised of Angela Livingstone, Isabel Murphy and Jeremy Caulton.

The support of the Kiri Te Kanawa Foundation has ensure the competition’s prizes are bigger than ever, with the Main Prize and Song Prize winners receiving £20,000 and £10,000 respectively, while finalists will receive £2,500 for the Main Prize and £1,000 for the Song Prize.

In addition to the cash prize, a new partnership with London’s Wigmore Hall means the Song Prize finalists will be offered a recital at the venue.

David Jackson, artistic director of BBC Cardiff Singer says: ‘We’ve had an extraordinary level of applicants for 2019 and it’s fair to say that we’re in for a thrilling week of singing. This year we’re offering live TV broadcasting and streaming for the first time, increased prize money and career-enhancing recitals at London’s Wigmore Hall and Southbank Centre.’

Dame Kiri Te Kanawa added: ‘The auditions this year have been excellent, and we are in for something really special in June. I’m greatly looking forward to the Competition.’

The full list of singers is as follows
Guadalupe Barrientos – Mezzo Soprano – Argentina
Lauren Fagan – Soprano – Australia
Camila Titinger – Soprano – Brazil
Mingjie Lei – Tenor – China
Katie Bray – Mezzo Soprano – England
Adriana Gonzalez – Soprano – Guatemala
Jorge Espino – Baritone – Mexico
Badral Chuluunbaatar – Baritone – Mongolia
Luis Gomes – Tenor- Portugal
Roman Arndt – Tenor – Russia
Karina Kherunts – Mezzo Soprano – Russia
Yulia Mennibaeva – Mezzo Soprano – Russia
Owen Metsileng – Tenor – South Africa
Leonardo Lee – Baritone – South Korea
Sooyeon Lee – Soprano – South Korea
Lena Belkina – Mezzo Soprano – Ukraine
Andrei Kymach – Baritone – Ukraine
Patrick Guetti – Bass – Usa
Richard Ollarsaba – Bass Baritone – Usa
Angharad Lyddon – Mezzo Soprano – Wales

For more information and purchase tickets, please visit

Share this

Subscribe to our RSS Feed