Disclosure win 2014 European Border Breakers Award

DisclosureDisclosure and Ireland’s Kodaline are among the winners of the 2014 European Border Breakers Awards.

Winners of the awards are artists thought to have achieved ‘border-breaking success’ between 1 August 2012 and 31 July 2013.

Market analyst Nielsen Music Control selects the winning artists on the basis of sales and frequency as well as votes from EU radio stations and music festivals.

Androulla Vassiliou, European commissioner for education, culture, multilingualism and youth, said: ‘’Without music, life would be a mistake,’ said Friedrich Nietzsche some time ago; musical tastes might have changed a bit since his day, but music is still a universal language that touches everyone, regardless of age or background.

‘The internet has made it easier than ever to access music, yet, paradoxically, it is much harder for artists to break through and achieve lasting success. The European Commission supports the EBBAs because we want to help the most promising acts to reach audiences beyond their home base and to break into new international markets.’

The EBBAs were set up as a platform to encourage artists to make the most of the EU single market by reaching audiences beyond their home country.

The winners will be presented with their prize at the Eurosonic Noorderslag festival in Groningen, Netherlands, on 15 January 2014.

Previous recipients of the prize include Adele, Emeli Sande?, The Ting Tings and Mumford and Sons.

The full list of winners for the EBB awards 2014 is below:

GuGabriel (Austria)
Lukas Graham (Denmark)
Woodkid (France)
Zedd (Germany)
Asgeir (Iceland)
Kodaline (Ireland)
Jacco Gardner (Netherlands)
Envy (Norway)
Icona Pop (Sweden)
Disclosure (UK)