Dr Who appoints new composer

dr who composer segun akinola

Segun Akinola is to become Dr Who’s new composer, tasked with reworking the show’s iconic theme tune and creating all the next series’ incidental music.

Akinola replaces veteran Murray Gold, who scored the first 10 seasons of the rebooted Dr Who franchise.

The BBC announced that Akinola, an alumnus of the Royal Birmingham Conservatoire and part of 2017’s Bafta Breakthrough Brit programme, will score series 11.

His previous work includes Black and British: A Forgotten History. He also scored Shola Amoo’s debut feature film A Moving Image, which had its world premiere at the 2016 LA Film Festival, won the Special Recognition in Narrative Directing Award at BlackStar Film Festival 2016 and had its European premiere at the 60th BFI London Film Festival the same year.

Recently, he completed the scores for the major three-part series The Human Body: Secrets of Your Life Revealed and two-part series Expedition Volcano, both for BBC Two and PBS.

Dr Who writer Chris Chibnall said in a statement: ‘Welcome to the Doctor Who family, Segun Akinola! We’re over the moon Segun’s agreed to join us, to provide the score for the next phase of the Doctor Who adventure.

‘From our very first conversations, it was obvious Segun was a passionate, collaborative and delightful human being as well as a fantastic and bold composer. We’re looking forward to introducing the world to his exciting and emotional soundtracks for the 13th Doctor.’

Picture credit: David Shoukry

Share this

Subscribe to our RSS Feed