EFDSS announces folk pioneers for 2017 Gold Badge Awards

english folk dance and song society

Johnny Adams and The Wilson Family are among the four folk pioneers to be honoured with an English Folk Dance and Song Society (EFDSS) Gold Badge Award.

They are joined by Dave and Maggie Hunt plus Nicolas Broadbridge, who are all recognised for their outstanding contributions to folk music, dance or song.

They join previous Gold Badge holders including EFDSS founder and folk-song collector Cecil Sharp, composer Ralph Vaughan Williams, performer/writer A L Lloyd, EFDSS president Shirley Collins and vice president Eliza Carthy.

Alistair Anderson, chair of the EFDSS board, said: ‘All of this year’s recipients have played important roles in their individual fields.

‘They have helped to inspire, to support and to inform generations of folk artists and fans, making significant contributions to the continuing strength and vitality of traditional English folk arts. We are delighted to recognise them with these prestigious awards.’

For more info about the EFDSS Gold Badge Awards, see www.efdss.org/efdss-about-us/gold-badge-award