EFDSS announces new creative residencies

PollypaulusmawebPhillip Henry and Hannah Martin, Emily Portman and Polly Paulusma are the latest folk artists to receive English Folk Dance and Song Society (EFDSS) Creative Artist Residencies.

The residencies are part of EFDSS’ Aspire Programme to provide artistic support and professional development to new and emerging artists.

Phillip Henry and Hannah Martin are a BBC Folk Award winning duo from the West Country while Emily is a singer, writer and concertina player from Glastonbury. Polly Paulusma is also a singer songwriter who has supported the likes of Bob Dylan and Marianne Faithfull.

Meanwhile, Joe Hammill, a 23-year-old singer-songwriter from Thornaby on Tees, has been announced as the winner of the Graeme Miles Bursary, a one-off award in memory of the Middlesbrough songwriter who died in 2013.

Neil Pearson, EFDSS’ artist development and programming manager, said: ‘The residencies and the Graeme Miles Bursary are important ways the EFDSS can support artists at different stage of their careers.

‘We know that Creative Artists Residencies can be the starting point for a project that can go on to have a life way beyond what was first hoped and we look forward to seeing what Phillip and Hannah, Emily and Polly create.’

Visit the EFDSS website for more information about EFDSS’ Artist Development programme.