Enter Shikari lead AIM awards shortlist

Enter Shikari head up nominations for this year’s Association of Independent Music (AIM) awards.

The British rockers have been lined up for three prizes at the event – Best Live Act, Hardest Working Band or Artist and Independent Album of the Year for their third record, A Flash Flood of Colour.

Frank Turner, Madness and Alabama Shakes are close behind them with two nominations each.

The rest of the acts shortlisted span a wide range of musical styles – the likes of Django Djanogo, Wiley, Rustie, Adele and Amon Tobin have all received nominations.

As Edwyn Collins and Mute’s Daniel Miller have already been named as recipients of the Outstanding Contribution To Music Award and the Pioneer Awards respectively, the rest of the winners will be unveiled at a ceremony at the Brewery in London on 29 October 2012.

The event will be hosted by BBC Radio 1’s Huw Stephens and BBC 6Music’s Steve Lamacq.

Find out more details on the event below:


View the full list of nominees below:

Best Live Act (voted for by visitors to www.thefly.co.uk)
The Cribs
Dub Pistols
Enter Shikari
The Prodigy
Frank Turner

Independent Breakthrough Of The Year (in association with 7Digital)
Alabama Shakes
Alt – J
Django Django

Hardest Working Band Or Artist
Cancer Bats
Enter Shikari
Frank Turner
Skinny Lister

Best Difficult Second Album
Admiral Fallow – Tree Bursts In Snow
First Aid Kit – The Lion’s Roar
Speech Debelle – Freedom Of Speech
The Invisible – Rispah
The Skints – Part & Parcel

Independent Album Of The Year (In association with Bird & Bird)
Alabama Shakes – Boys & Girls
Enter Shikari – A Flash Flood Of Colour
Liars – Wixiw
Future Of The Left – The Plot Against Common Sense
Rustie – Glass Swords

Best Small Label (in association with Sound Performance)
Alcopop! Records
Black Butter Records
Pink Mist
Xtra Mile Recordings

Genre Spotlight Award
Broadcaster Ft Peggy Seeger – Folksploitation
Lorn – Ask The Dust
Neil Cowley Trio – The Face Of Mount Molehill
Netsky – 2
Wiley – Evolve Or Be Extinct

Independent Entrepreneur Of The Year (in association with The Orchard)
Alex Di Savoia – Aardvark Records
Chris Goss / Tony Colman / Tom Kelsey – Hospital Records
Louis Barabbas – Debt Records
Sam Dyson – Distiller Records
Simon Raymonde – Bella Union

PPL Award For Most Played Independent Act
Arctic Monkeys
Caro Emerald

Special Catalogue Release Of The Year
Amon Tobin – Amon Tobin
Madness – A Guided Tour Of Madness
Can – The Lost Tapes
The 13th Floor Elevators – Music Of The Spheres
Various Artists – The Original Sound Of Cumbria

Independent Label Of The Year (in association with EDC)
Bella Union
Hospital Records
Ninja Tune

Indie Champion Award

Olli Dutton – Obscene Strategies
Ian Evans – IME Music
Steve Lamacq – BBC 6music
Katie Parsons – Kerrang!
Shell Zenner – Amazing Radio

Golden Welly Award for Best Independent Festival (voted for by visitors to www.thisisfakediy.com)
Bearded Theory
In The Woods
Truck Festival
Y Not Festival