LIVE BLOG: The Ivors 2018

ivor novello awards

Welcome to our live blog from The Ivors 2018 – from 2.30pm on Thursday 31 May we’ll be bringing you all the latest from the ceremony as it unfolds at Grosvenor House, London.


That’s it, another great afternoon celebrating terrific songwriting and composing talent. Huge thanks to the BASCA team for another amazing Ivor Novello Awards.

Check back next week when we will have some exclusive video interviews with winners and look out for our features on Billy Bragg and Lionel Ritchie in the June edition of M magazine.



And we come to the final award.
The PRS for Music Special International Award.  The only Ivor Novello Award independently presented to an international writer, this recognises a songwriter whose work has left an indelible mark on British music. PRS Chairman Nigel Elderton and Ed Sheeran are on stage to present to Lionel Richie  who receives a standing ovation. On receiving the award he said, “there is a time in your career when you have to take amazing chances because God is only whispering to you… and if he whispers and you keep listening you prove to everybody else that they were wrong”.


The Ivors Outstanding Song Collection.

Awarded to songwriter Cathy Dennis in recognition of her outstanding body of work. Cathy accepts her award saying, “I really hope I can inspire other women”.


The Ivors Inspiration Award

Actor Aiden Gillen presents the award.

Shane MacGowan (The Pogues) accepts the award which is given in recognition of the power of his songwriting to inspire the creative talents of others.


Time for the much anticipated Songwriter of the Year.

Three time Ivor winner Eric Clapton steps up to present. “I’m just proud to be in the same building as Stormzy”.

The 2017 Songwriter of the Year is Ed Sheeran who, on accepting the award says “I actually started playing guitar because of this man [Eric Clapton] behind me”.

Ed thanks one of his collaborators, Steve Mac “hes been coming for 24 years and never won one, so this is for you”.


Next up is the Album Award.
Laura Mvula takes the stage to present the award that recognises exceptional songwriting and consistency across an album as a whole. The judges described the winning album as an astonishing open hearted body of work that fully captures the spirit of 2017.  Laura says that “this award changed things for so it’s an immense honour to be presenting it this year”.
Gang Signs & Prayer. Written by Michael ‘Stormzy’ Omari Published in the UK by Warner/Chappell Music Ltd. 

Stormzy accepts and is “very very very happy right now, the Ivor Novello is an award that recognises your pen and your art so I proper wanted to win this one”



Best TV Soundtrack

The Miniaturist composed by Dan Jones.  David Arnold presents the award which is the third Ivor for Dan.

Published in the UK by Faber Music and Sony/ATV Music Publishing (UK) Ltd



The PRS for Music Outstanding Contribition to British Music

Tom Watson MP steps up to present this years’s award to Billy Bragg who says that we are “privileged as songwriters to bring people together… we can pass on something very important in the currency of songwriting. In these devisive times it’s our duty to ramp up the empathy in everything we do”.

Look out for our interview with Billy Bragg in the next print edition of M magazine.



Best Song Musically and Lyrically.

Mel C presents the award.  The winning song is Magnificent (She Says) by Elbow

Written by Guy Garvey, Craig Potter, Mark Potter and Pete Turner.  Published in the UK by Salvation Music Ltd – Warner/Chappell Music Publishing Ltd

This year’s judges said that the winning song succeeded structurally, musically and with heartfelt, beautiful imagery.



Best Original Video Game Score

BBC radio presenter Gemma Cairney is onstage to present the award that recognises outstanding composition for a video game, this year’s judges felt that the winning score had an impressive scope, depth and attention to detail whilst retaining sensitivity to the emotional content. The winner is Horizon Zero Dawn Composed by Joris de Man, Joe Henson and Alexis Smith



The Ivors Classical Music Award.

Celebrated oboist and conductor Nicholas Daniel presents the award to Thea Musgrave, in recognition of an outstanding body of classical work. Thea talks about the importance of music in schools in her acceptance speech.



Time for the Best Contemporary Song. Presented by Skin.

This award recognises outstanding originality in songwriting and this year’s judges felt the winning song captures the personal and political landscape and in particular they praised the truth and execution of the lyrics.

The winning song is Dave’s Question TimeWritten by Dave and Fraser T Smith. Published in the UK by Warner/Chappell Music Ltd and Kobalt Music Publishing.



International Achievement

Presented to Billy Ocean, by Steve Jenkins in recognition of the excellence, and international success, of Billy’s song catalogue. A huge standing ovation for a tearful Billy Ocean: “You know the reason I’m crying, when I look at the screen I saw how young I was”



Best Original Film Score

Great to see Lisa Stansfield today. She takes the stage to present this one. This award recognises outstanding original composition for a feature film, this year’s judges described the winning score as an uncompromising, brave and definitive part of an extraordinary film.

The Award goes to Mica Levi for Jackie. Published in the UK by Beggars Music.



Paul Gambaccini is hosting the awards again this year. He welcomes up PRS’ Paul Clements to present the first award.

The PRS for Music Most Performed Work.

Compiled by The Ivors sponsor PRS for Music, this award credits the song that received the most broadcast, online and general performance in the UK during 2017.

The award goes to Ed Sheeran for The Shape of You.  Written by Ed Sheeran, Steve Mac, Johnny McDaid. Published in the UK by Rokstone Music – Universal Music Publishing, Spirit B-Unique – Polar Patrol and Ed Sheeran Limited – Sony/ATV Music Publishing (UK) Ltd. 

Ed says “This is my favourite awards show” and hands over to Steve and Johnny as it’s their first Ivor. Steve Mac adds that ‘this song has changed my life!”



Everyone is seated, the Great Room is buzzing and The Ivors are underway.

BASCA’s Crispin Hunt welcomes everyone, thanking Spotify and YouTube for adding writer credits. He talks about diversity in the music industry: “Let’s not fail the future, let’s lead it”.



The Ivors were created by BASCA [British Academy of Songwriters, Composers and Authors] to celebrate, honour and reward excellence in songwriting and composing. The awards, which have been sponsored by PRS for Music since 1974, are unique in specifically honouring the UK songwriting and composing community and are exclusively judged by songwriters and composers