Gramophone Awards 2018 shortlist revealed

gramophone mag

Composers John Pickard, Pascal Dusapin, Brett Dean and Luca Francesconi are among the talent to receive a nod at this year’s Gramophone Awards.

Recordings of theirs are all shortlisted in the Contemporary category, sponsored by PRS for Music and PPL, with the winner honoured at a ceremony in London on 13 September.

Elsewhere, the late Oliver Knussen is acknowledged in the Orchestral category for his recording of the late works of Elliott Carter with the Birmingham Contemporary Music Group and the BBC Symphony Orchestra.

The category also features François-Xavier Roth and Les Siècles for their recording of Ravel’s Daphnis et Chloé and Teodor Currenztis’s recording of Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No 6 with Musica Aeterna.

The category winners will be announced on 31 August, and one of these will go on to win Recording of the Year at the ceremony.

Other awards announced on 13 September will include Artist of the Year, Young Artist of the Year, Lifetime Achievement, Label of the Year and Orchestra of the Year, a new award this year and the only one to be decided by public vote.

James Jolly, Gramophone’s editor-in-chief, said: ‘The summer months have been especially enjoyable this year as we’ve weighed up the merits of the contending recordings, and bear witness to the spectacularly high standard of music making we can all too frequently take for granted.

‘Some of these categories could be won by any one of the six competing recordings and choosing that single one was often very tough. The final list is mouth-watering, but meanwhile be dazzled by these 30 recordings that will soon be reduced to just 10!’


Share this

Subscribe to our RSS Feed