Gruff Rhys, Georgia Ruth, Sweet Baboo up for Welsh Music Prize

sweet baboo stephen black

The shortlist for this year’s Welsh Music Prize has been revealed, with previous winner Gruff Rhys, Georgia Ruth and Sweet Baboo (pictured) among the artists nominated for their albums.

Created by BBC Radio 1 DJ Huw Stephens and promoter John Rostron in 2011, the ceremony take place in late autumn every year and has previously awarded Meilyr Jones (2016), Gwenno (2015) and Joanna Gruesome (2014).

This year’s shortlist is an eclectic line-up of records, ranging from a Dylan Thomas soundtrack and electro pop, to doom metal and techno.

Launched to coincide with Swn festival – one of the UK’s biggest independent music festival’s – the Welsh Music Prize is now in its seventh year, and recognises the very best music made in Wales as well as Welsh musicians worldwide.

The winner will be chosen by a panel of industry experts and is set to be announced at the ceremony on 20 October at Cardiff’s Milk and Sugar in the Old Library.

The nominees are:

Baby Queens – Baby Queens (Strangetown)
Bendith – Bendith (Agati Records)
Cotton Wolf Life In Analogue (Bubblewrap)
The Gentle Good – Ruins / Adfeilion (Bubblewrap)
Georgia RuthFossil Scale (Navigator Records)
Gruff Rhys – Set Fire To The Stars (Finders Keepers)
H. Hawkline – I Romanticize (Heavenly Recordings)
Hms Morris – Interior Design (Waco Gwenci)
Kelly Lee OwensKelly Lee Owens (Smalltown Supersound)
Mammoth Weed Wizard Bastard – Y Proffwyd Dwyll (New Heavy Sounds)
Sweet Baboo – Wild Imagination (Moshi Moshi Records)
Toby Hay – The Gathering (Cambrian Records)