IDLES, Jade Bird top AIM Awards 2019 shortlist

Bristolian punk-rockers IDLES and singer-songwriter Jade Bird lead the AIM Awards 2019 shortlist with four and three nominations respectively.

Both are up for the UK Independent Breakthrough and International Breakthrough accolades, with IDLES also up for the Best Second Album Award for Joy as an Act of Resistance.

The four-piece’s sophomore album is also nominated in the Best Creative Packaging category.

Bird’s eponymous debut LP is shortlisted for best Independent Album, alongside entries by Dave (Psychodrama), Fontaines D.C. (Dogrel), Jordan Rakei (Origin), Little Simz (GREY Area) and Snapped Ankles (Stunning Luxury).

Dave, Little Simz and Fontaines D.C. are also in the running for two gongs each, as are FKA Twigs, Christine and the Queens, Maribou State and Georgia. See below for the full nominations list.

The first-ever One To Watch category, in association with BBC Music Introducing, includes shortlisters Arlo Parks, Barney Artist, Georgia, KOKOROKO and Larkins.

Elsewhere, the Outstanding Contribution to Music award winner will be Blondie frontwoman Debbie Harry — who will pick up her award at the AIM Awards ceremony on 3 September.

Organisers have also announced that Georgia will perform a live show at the event, which takes place at The Roundhouse, London.

Voting is now also open for Best Live Act, with more than 12,000 votes already cast. The poll closes on 31 July – vote here.

Paul Pacifico, AIM chief executive, said: ‘It’s great to see the diversity among this year’s nominees, which is a testament to the huge range of quality independent music being produced in 2019. We’re looking forward to honouring established artists like Debbie Harry and relishing exciting upcoming performers like Georgia.’

Tickets to the ceremony are available at

AIM Independent Music Awards Shortlist

UK Independent Breakthrough
Black Midi
Ezra Collective
Gerry Cinnamon
Jade Bird

International Breakthrough
Afro B
Jade Bird
Maribou State
Nilüfer Yanya

Best Independent Track
Dave Funky Friday (ft. Fredo)
FKA Twigs Cellophane
Fontaines D.C. Boys In The Better Land
Georgia About Work The Dancefloor
JARV IS Must I Evolve
Jai Paul Do You Love Her Now
Holly Herndon Eternal
Little Simz Selfish (ft. Celo Sol)
Sharon Van Etten Seventeen
Four Tet Teenage Birdsong

Best Independent Album
Better Oblivion Community Center Better Oblivion Community Center
Christine And The Queens Chris
Dave Psychodrama
Fontaines D.C. Dogrel
Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes End of Suffering
Jade Bird Jade Bird
Jordan Rakei Origin
Little Simz GREY Area
Snapped Ankles Stunning Luxury
Swindle No More Normal

Best [Difficult] Second Album
Erland Cooper Sule Skerry
IDLES Joy as an Act of Resistance
Julia Jacklin Crushing
Maribou State Kingdoms in Colour
SOAK Grim Town

One To Watch
Arlo Parks
Barney Artist

Best Small Label
Fuzz Club Records
Killing Moon
Local Action
Scruff of the Neck
Speedy Wunderground

Best Creative Packaging
Various Artists Confessin’ The Blues
Murlo Dolos
IDLES Joy as an Act of Resistance
Various Artists Sick Music 2019
Keith Richards Talk Is Cheap

Best Independent Video
Christine and the Queens 5 Dollars
Hot Chip Hungry Child
John Grant He’s Got His Mother’s Hips
Caleb Steph Black Boy
FKA Twigs Cellophane

Best Independent Label
Brownswood Recordings
Nuclear Blast
Partisan Records
Rough Trade

PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Artist
AJ Tracey
Cosmo Sheldrake
Freya Ridings
Guru Randhawa
Jorja Smith