Inaugural A&R Awards winners revealed

Jess Glynne

Jess Glynne, songwriter Cass Lowe and publishers Sony/ATV and Good Soldier Songs were among those honoured at the inaugural A&R Awards.

Glynne won the Breakthrough Artist Award with her Atlantic A&R team, led by Alec Boateng and Briony Turner.

Multi-platinum-selling Lowe, who won the 2016 Ivor Novello Award for Best Contemporary Song with Snakehips for their song All My Friends, took the Songwriter of the Year gong.

There were two Publisher of the Year Awards, sponsored by PRS for Music, with finalists differentiated by the size of catalogue they control.

Sony/ATV took one of the Publisher gongs and Christian Tattersfield’s Good Soldier Songs took the other.

Tattersfield, along with Good Soldier Songs’ Alex Gilbert, also joined Irish singer songwriter Gavin James on stage to collect the Breaking Artist Award.

Elsewhere, Warner/Chappell’s Amber Davis received the A&R of the Year Award in the grime category, having signed both Skepta and Stormzy this year.

The ceremony, which took place at the Park Lane Hotel, London, on 3 November, closed with The Sir George Martin Award, which recognised an outstanding contemporary A&R figure.

The recipient – chosen by the Sir George Martin estate in conjunction with Music Business Worldwide – was incoming Warner/Chappell UK managing director Mike Smith.

The award was delivered by Blur’s Damon Albarn, whose band Smith signed nearly 30 years ago as a scout at MCA Music Publishing.

The awards were hosted by Music Business Worldwide and supported by Abbey Road Studios, Centtrip, Downtown, Jagermeister, Music + Sport, PRS For Music, TAPE London and YouTube.

Watch our interview with Cass Lowe and Snakehips from the The Ivors 2016.

Full list of recipients:

The Sir George Martin Award
Mike Smith

A&R Icon
Muff Winwood

The Artist Loyalty Award
Colin Lester, Jem Artists

The Breaking Artist Award
Gavin James

The Breakthrough Artist Award
Jess Glynne

Producer of the Year
Mark Ralph

Songwriter of the Year
Cass Lowe

A&R Administrator
Ashley Forbes, Virgin Emi

A&R of the Year: Electronic/Dance
David Dollimore & Dipesh Parmar, Ministry Of Sound

A&R of the Year: Hip-Hop/Grime
Amber Davis, Warner/Chappell

A&R of the Year: Pop/R&B
Tim Blacksmith & Danny D

A&R of the Year: Rock/Alternative
Jamie Oborne, Dirty Hit

Publisher of the Year
Good Soldier Songs

Publisher of the Year

Management Company (The David Enthoven Award)
September Management

Independent Label of the Year
Because Music

Major Label of the Year
Polydor Records