Jazz FM Awards 2016 nominees revealed

Matthew Halsall, Binker & Moses (above) and Sons of Kemet are among the British acts to get a nod in the 2016 Jazz FM Awards shortlist.

All three will compete for the UK Jazz Act of the Year crown, while Binker & Moses are also up for the Breakthrough Act of the Year award, alongside Jacob Collier and Nerija.

Elsewhere, Mercury-nominated soloist Eska has been shortlisted in the Vocalist of the Year category with Lauren Kinsella and Liane Caroll.

The Instrumentalist of the Year prize will be contested by Mark Lockheart, Theon Cross and Zoe Rahman. For a full list of nominees, please see below.

The Jazz FM Awards take place on 26 April at London’s Bloomsbury Ballroom and will feature a performance by Gregory Porter, who will also receive the Jazz Impact Award.

The awards are presented by Jazz FM and jazz event production company Serious, with support from PPL, 7digital and Yamaha.

Jonathan Arendt, chief executive of Jazz FM, said: We are delighted to announce this year’s Jazz FM Awards nominees celebrating the extraordinary work from established international Grammy-winning superstars to up and coming homegrown talent, this is sure to be our biggest and best year yet.’

Full list of 2016 nominees

Breakthrough Act of the Year                                                                                 
Binker & Moses
Jacob Collier

International Jazz Artist of the Year
Kamasi Washington
Marcus Miller
Maria Schneider

Blues Artist of the Year
Alabama Shakes
Buddy Guy
Gary Clark Jnr

Soul Artist of the Year
Jill Scott
Leon Bridges
Lizz Wright

Instrumentalist of the Year
Mark Lockheart
Theon Cross
Zoe Rahman

Vocalist of the Year
Lauren Kinsella
Liane Carroll

Jazz Innovation of the Year
Black Top
Christian Scott Atunde Adjuah
David Virelles

Digital Initiative of the Year
Jacob Collier
Tin Men and the Telephone

Album of the Year (public vote)
Christian Scott Stretch Music
Hiatus Kiayote Choose Your Weapon
Kamasi Washington The Epic
Maria Schneider The Thompson Fields
Charenee Wade Offering
Snarky Puppy Sylva

UK Jazz Act of the Year (Public Vote)
Binker & Moses
Matthew Halsall
Sons of Kemet

Live Experience of the Year (public vote)
Ice-T and Ron McCurdy, The Langston Hughes Project at the Barbican
Maria Schneider at Symphony Hall Birmingham
Taylor McFerrin at Rio Club Glasgow

Lifetime Achievement
Announced on the night