Jazz FM Awards 2019 winners revealed

sons of kemet

Sons of Kemet, Nubya Garcia, Poppy Ajudha and Cassie Kinoshi were among the new wave of UK talent to be honoured at this year’s Jazz FM Awards.

Sons of Kemet, led by saxophonist and composer Shabaka Hutchings (pictured above), won Album of the Year for their critically-acclaimed Your Queen is a Reptile, while Nubya Garcia took home the UK Jazz Act of the Year prize.

Cassie Kinoshi, founder and leader of the SEED Ensemble, and member of London septet Nejira, was awarded the Breakthrough Act gong.

Elsewhere, rising singer-songwriter Poppy Ajudha received the Soul Act of the Year while jazz prodigy Jacob Collier took home the PRS for Music Gold Award.

For the full list of winners see below.

The Jazz FM Awards 2019 took place at Shoreditch Town Hall, London, last night (30 April) and was presented in partnership with PRS for Music and PPL.

Breakthrough Act 
Cassie Kinoshi

The Digital Award 
Louis Cole

The Innovation Award 
Steam Down

Instrumentalist of the Year 
Jean Toussaint

International Jazz Act of the Year 
Makaya McCraven

Soul Act of the Year 
Poppy Ajudha

Blues Act of the Year 
Eric Bibb

Vocalist of the Year 
Cherise Adams-Burnett

UK Jazz Act (public vote) 
Nubya Garcia

Album of the Year (public vote) 
Sons Of Kemet – Your Queen is a Reptile

Live Experience of the Year (public vote) 
Steam Down featuring Kamasi Washington

PRS for Music Gold Award
Jacob Collier

PPL Lifetime Achievement Award
Don Was and Blue Note Records

Share this

Subscribe to our RSS Feed