Latest Music Export Growth Scheme recipients announced

Saxophonist and composer YolanDa Brown (pictured above), Scottish pop artist Nina Nesbitt and singer-songwriter Neneh Cherry are among the latest wave of acts to receive funding from the Music Export Growth Scheme (MEGS), which has now awarded over £3m to British artists.

In the latest round, 12 British acts received grants totalling £220,052, to help fund their projects across Europe, North America, Australia and Jamaica.

YolanDa Brown said: ‘I am celebrating 10 years in music this year and absolutely thrilled to be awarded a MEGS grant. The opportunity to take my music around the world, engage with new audiences in different territories is the most amazing feeling for an independent artist and I am pleased that with this award, I can do just that.’

Fellow recipient, soul singer Samuel Jack said: ‘I’m absolutely thrilled and wholeheartedly grateful for the support from the BPI. Being a musician on the road can be costly and as offers increase, so too does the cost of being able to accept them!

‘Now, with the BPI’s help I have a real opportunity to not only grow as an artist, but to maintain and continue that growth; it’s an absolute game changer for me.’

MEGS is jointly run by the Department for International Trade (DIT) and UK record label association the British Phonographic Industry (BPI).

Speaking about the scheme, Chris Tams, BPI director of international overseeing the programme, said: ‘The Music Export Growth Scheme gives a diverse range of talented British artists the opportunity to grow their fanbase in key international markets through touring and marketing support.

‘In the process, it helps to promote the profile of British music overseas and, crucially, helps to boost our exports with a return on investment to date of over £11 for each £1 put in by the UK Government.’

Applications for the next round of funding open in 2019. For more details, please visit the BPI website here.

See below for the full list of MEGS recipients in the 14th round of funding:

Bear’s Den
Django Django
Ezra Collective
Gabrielle Aplin
Neneh Cherry
Nina Nesbitt
Samuel Jack
Ten Fé
The Twilight Sad
YolanDa Brown