Lewis Capaldi to be named Artist of the Year at the 2019 A&MAs

The Music Managers Forum (MMF) and Featured Artists Coalition (FAC) have also revealed that Debbie Gwyther is set to receive the Manager of the Year Award, sponsored by YouTube Music.

Capaldi’s award is sponsored by Selina and the final 2019 Artist and Manager Awards (A&MAs) announcement includes the shortlist for Breakthrough Artist and Breakthrough Manager categories, and the winners will be announced on the night.

This year’s A&MAs will take place at London’s Bloomsbury Big Top on Thursday 14 November with headline sponsors Selina, and will be hosted and presented by BBC Radio 1’s Huw Stephens.

The Artist of the Year Award follows a stellar year for Capaldi, which included the release of his number 1 debut album Divinely Uninspired to a Hellish Extent and sold-out arena shows.

Sandie Shaw, board director and honorary president, FAC, says: ‘Congratulations to Lewis Capaldi. The Artist of the Year Award had some really strong competition this year, but the FAC felt Lewis’ achievements have been just so extraordinary that he became our unanimous choice. To build such an incredibly strong and immediate bond with your audience, and particularly at this global scale, has been something to behold. That he’s made it look so effortless, and trust me, it won’t have been, makes his success all the more compelling.’

Debbie Gwyther achievement have been equally impressive, as she masterminded the return of Liam Gallagher to centre stage, and delivered two number one albums, with Why Me? Why Not following As You Were to the UK’s top spot in September 2019.

Annabella Coldrick, chief executive, MMF, comments: ‘Selecting a ‘Manager of the Year’ is always a massive challenge, but Debbie’s impact over the past 12 months has been undeniable. We all know that Liam Gallagher is one of the UK’s greatest, most enduring and recognisable rock stars, but behind the scenes is a story of incredible team work and collaboration – all with the goal of putting Liam back where he belongs. MMF are delighted to recognise Debbie’s success and thrilled that Sam and Roy have agreed to present the Award. Why her? Why not!’

Breakthrough Artist of the Year (sponsored by Spotify) are:
Fontaines D.C.
Freya Ridings
Sam Fender
Young T & Bugsey

Breakthrough Manager of the Year (sponsored by BMI) are:
Amy Frenchum (Ezra Collective/Yazmin Lacey)
Andy Musgrave – Supernature (AJ Tracey/Murlo/MISOGI/Conducta)
Louise Latimer & Milo Ross – Golden Arm (Goat Girl/The Big Moon/Self Esteem)
Mark Bent – Mother Artist Management (Idles/Heavy Lungs/Avaera)
Michael Adex – Northern Quarterz (Aitch)
Nike Durosaro – (Shakka)
Shane ‘Mizermilli’ Derozario – MizerMillion Entertainment (MoStack/Rxwntree/JT)
Sophie Bloggs – YMU (Kurupt FM/Danny Howard/Krystal Klear/Hannah Wants)

Previously announced confirmed winners at the 2019 A&MAs include Nile Rodgers (Artists’ Artist Award, sponsored by PPL) and Neneh Cherry (Pioneer Award, sponsored by Facebook).

The A&MAs is now close to selling out. For last minute table or individual bookings, please email jayne@themmf.net or visit  amawards.org.