Martin Mills re-elected chair of Merlin

Merlin logo 2014Beggars Group founder Martin Mills has been re-elected as chairman of Merlin, the indie sector’s global digital rights agency.

The organisation announced the results of its biennial board election and the 15 executives to be in charge of overseeing the organisation’s strategy until 2017.

Alongside reappointed executives from key independent labels – including representatives from Epitaph Records, Evolution Music, Inertia, [PIAS], Phonofile, Tommy Boy and !K7 – new incoming board members include Darius van Arman (Secretly Group), Emmanuel de Buretel (Because Music), Justin West (Secret City Records), Scott Muir ( and Yoel Kenan (Africori).

Beggars Group founder Martin Mills was reappointed as Merlin chairman.

Charles Caldas, Merlin CEO, said: ‘Merlin’s global construct remains one of our greatest strengths, and this is truly reflected by the make-up of our board. I am honoured to lead an organisation that can draw on such an unparalleled wealth of commercial expertise – from the US, UK and Europe through to Africa, Asia, South America and Australasia.

‘I am also delighted that so many of our members took the opportunity to vote in this election, and that Merlin remains of such importance to their digital business. The two years ahead will be critical for the independent label sector, but Merlin is in better shape than ever to help our members realise the opportunities ahead.’

The Merlin board is below:

North America:

Darius van Arman – Secretly Group (USA)
Dave Hansen – Epitaph Records (USA)
Erik Gilbert – Essential USA inc. t/as CV America (USA)
Justin West – Secret City Records (Canada)
Tom Silverman – Tommy Boy (USA)


Emmanuel de Buretel – Because Music (France)
Erik Brataas – Phonofile (Norway)
Horst Weidenmueller – !K7 Records (Germany)
Martin Mills – Beggars Group (UK)
Michel Lambot – [PIAS] Group (Belgium)

R.O.W. :

Ashley Whitfield – Evolution Music (Hong Kong)
Colin Daniels – Inertia (Australia)
Luciana Pegorer – Delira Musica (Brazil)
Scott Muir – (New Zealand)
Yoel Kenan – Africori (South Africa)

This year saw the highest ever number of candidates standing for election, as well the highest ever percentage of votes cast by the Merlin membership.

Visit to find out more.