Mercury Prize 2019 nominees revealed

Dave, Black Midi (pictured), Slowthai and Little Simz are among the 12 artists to feature on the Mercury Prize shortlist this year.

They are joined by Anna Calvi, Cate Le Bon, Foals, Fontaines DC, IDLES, Nao, SEED Ensemble and The 1975 to be in contention for the coveted prize.

The shortlist was chosen from more than 200 entries and was announced on 6 Radio BBC 6 Music by Huw Stephens.

The Mercury Prize recognises and celebrates new music in the UK, and recent winners have included Wolf Alice, Sampha and Skepta.

To be eligible for the prize albums by British and Irish artists must have been released in the UK between 21 July 2018 and 19 July 2019.

The shortlist of 12 ‘Albums of the Year’ is chosen by an independent judging panel and recognises artistic achievement across a range of genres.

This year’s judging panel is comprised of Annie Mac, Clara Amfo, Danielle Perry (broadcaster & writer), Gaz Coombes, Jamie Cullum, Jeff Smith (head of music, 6 Music & Radio 2), Jorja Smith, Mike Walsh (head of music, Radio X), Phil Alexander (creative director, Kerrang!/contributing editor, Mojo), Stormzy, Tshepo Mokoena (editorial director,, Will Hodgkinson (chief rock & pop critic, The Times).

The 2019 Hyundai Mercury Prize show will take place on Thursday 19 September at the Eventim Apollo, Hammersmith.

The event is set to feature live performances by many of the 12 shortlisted artists before the announcement of the overall winner of the 2019 Hyundai Mercury Prize for ‘Album of the Year’.

The overall winner will be decided by the judging panel on the day of the Awards Show.

Full shortlist:

Anna Calvi – Hunter
Black Midi – Schlagenheim
Cate Le Bon – Reward
Dave – Psychodrama
Foals – Everything Not Saved Will Be Lost, Part 1
Fontaines DC – Dogrel
IDLES – Joy As An Act Of Resistance
Little Simz – Grey Area
Nao – Saturn
SEED Ensemble – Driftglass
Slowthai – Nothing Great About Britain
The 1975 – A Brief Enquiry Into Online Relationships