Michelle Escoffery joins PRS Board

the escofferys

Ivor Novello Award-winning singer, songwriter and vocal producer Michelle Escoffery has joined the PRS Board as a writer director.

She takes over from Imogen Heap, who has stepped down from her position.

Escoffery started her career in the singing family group The Escoffery’s, before signing to Atlantic Records in 1991.

Her first taste of chart success came soon after as one third of RnB trio Truce, who released the Top 20 single Eyes Don’t Lie and album Nothin’ But the Truce in the mid-nineties.

After they split, she became one of only two female stock writers at EMI Music Publishing alongside Cathy Dennis.

Over the years, Escoffery has penned songs for acts including Tina Turner, All Saints, Beverley Knight and Artful Dodger, worked on vocal arrangements for Rod Stewart and performed with Stevie Wonder and George Michael.

The Liberty X song Just A Little won Michelle the Ivor Novello Award for PRS Most Performed Work in 2002. It was also chosen as part of PRS for Music’Songs Of A Century, a selection of the Top 100 British songs from the last century.

Recent international success includes a chart-topping collaboration with Danish artist Nabiha and writing credits on South Korean boyband SHINee’s latest album, which was number one in six countries.

Escoffery said: ‘I’m pleased to join the PRS Board alongside some of the most talented and experienced songwriters and publishers in the UK.

‘It’s only right that an organisation that looks after such a vital income for songwriters should be represented and guided by the creators themselves.

‘I’m extremely honoured to be given this opportunity and hope that the knowledge I have gained throughout my career will help to steer PRS for Music to make the best choices on behalf of its members both on home soil and internationally.’

Nigel Elderton, PRS Chairman, said: ‘I am delighted to welcome Michelle to the PRS Board. She is not only an award-winning songwriter, but also a guiding influence for the next generation of music creators, which makes this appointment all the more fitting. I have no doubt that Michelle’s industry experience and acumen will help us build upon PRS’ success over the last few years.’

Escoffery sits on the PRS Board until the next Annual General Meeting in May 2019, alongside writer directors Barry Blue, Jim Duguid, Nicky Graham, Edward Gregson, Steve Levine, Dru Masters, Mitch Murray, Julian Nott and John Truelove.

Share this

Subscribe to our RSS Feed