M magazine: PRS for Music online magazine

MPG Awards 2018 Shortlist announced

The shortlist for the 2018 MPG Awards has been announced, with the likes of Ewan Pearson, Brian Eno, Lorde and Jane Third up for awards.

A quarter of this year’s nominees are female, with Catherine Marks, Manon Grandjean, Lorde, Marta Salogni, Steph Marziano, Mandy Parnell, Adele White and Jane Third all shortlisted for their production, engineering, mastering and A&R talents.

Now in its tenth year, the MPG Awards celebrate the best and brightest talent in music production, as well as rising artists.

Artist and producer Youth, who received the PPL-sponsored MPG Award for Outstanding Contribution to UK Music in 2016 praised the awards for recognising the diversity of the music industry, adding: ‘Producers rarely get recognition for all the work they do, as they are behind the scenes.

‘What makes the MPG Awards so great is that they celebrate all the talent and work producers do across all genres. Winning and MPG Award changed my life because you win from the votes of your peers – other music obsessed, kick ass producers like yourself. That’s what makes winning so very special.’

The winners will be announced at the Awards ceremony on 1 March 2018 at London’s Grosvenor House, presented by BBC Radio 6 Music’s Shaun Keaveny.

Full list of nominees:

UK Producer Of The Year
Catherine Marks
Charlie Andrew
Tom Dalgety

Recording Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by AMS Neve
Manon Grandjean
Matt Wiggins
Avril Mackintosh

Mix Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by Solid State Logic
Cenzo Townshend
David Wrench
Mark ‘Spike’ Stent

Re-mixer Of The Year, sponsored by Novation
Ewan Pearson
Matthew Herbert

Breakthrough Producer Of the Year, sponsored by Focusrite
Ben Baptie
Guy Massey
Jolyon Thomas

Self-Producing Artist Of The Year, sponsored by Spitfire Audio
Brian Eno
Glass Animals (Dave Bayley)
Sleaford Mods (Jason Williamson & Andrew Fearn)

Breakthrough Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by Genelec
Jake Gordon
Marta Salogni
Steph Marziano

International Producer Of The Year, sponsored by British Grove Studios
Garret ‘Jacknife’ Lee
T Bone Burnett

Mastering Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by Miloco Studios
Barry Grint
Mandy Parnell
Matt Colton

UK Album Of The Year, sponsored by Universal Audio
alt-J: ‘RELAXER’
Glass Animals: ‘How To Be A Human Being’
Royal Blood: ‘How Did We Get So Dark?’

UK Single Song Release Of The Year, sponsored by Shure
Arcade Fire: ‘Everything Now’
Harry Styles: ‘Sign Of The Times’
Royal Blood: ‘Lights Out’

The A&R Award
Adele White
Ben Durling
Jane Third

Studio Of The Year, sponsored by RME
Abbey Road Studios
RAK Studios
Strongroom Studios