Music Producers Guild Awards 2017 shortlist revealed

MPG Awards logo

Paul Epworth, Fraser T. Smith and Nigel Godrich are among the producers shortlisted for the Music Producers Guild (MPG) Awards 2017.

All three will go head to head in the UK Producer of the Year category at a ceremony on 16 February at the Grosvenor House Hotel, London.

Elsewhere, legendary Bowie producer Toy Visconti has been nominated in the International Producer of the Year category, alongside Josh Homme and Garret ‘Jacknife’ Lee.

The full list of nominees (available below) was decided upon by MPG voting members, who cast their ballots in record numbers this year, with the Self-Producing Artist category particularly hard fought.

The three shortlisters for this new award are James Blake, Jeff Lynne and Tarek Musa of Spring King.

Other notable entries include David Bowie’s Black Star, Michael Kiwanuka’s Love and Hate and Radiohead’s A Moon Shaped Pool, all of which are shortlisted for UK Album of the Year.

Now in its ninth year, the MPG Awards will feature 16 categories, recognising the best and brightest names in music production.

Previous award winners have included Sir George Martin CBE, Youth, FKA Twigs, Brian Eno, Catherine Marks, Trevor Horn and Dave Stewart.

Tony Platt, MPG Awards group director, said: ‘The MPG Awards are totally unique because they reflect the UK music industry’s incredible wealth of creative talent and also the respect we all have for our colleagues.

‘The roles of producers and engineers are now universally recognised and we can pat ourselves on the back for championing that recognition. The support and encouragement that these production teams give to artists is priceless and should be shouted about at every opportunity.’

The shortlist:

UK Producer Of The Year
Paul Epworth
Nigel Godrich
Fraser T. Smith

International Producer Of The Year, sponsored by Prism Sound
Josh Homme
Garret ‘Jacknife’ Lee
Tony Visconti

Breakthrough Producer Of The Year, sponsored by Novation
Brett Cox
Andrew Hunt
Joel Laslett Pott

Self Producing Artist of the Year, sponsored by Spitfire Audio
James Blake
Jeff Lynne
Tarek Musa (Spring King)

Recording Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by AMS Neve
Guy Massey
Mark Rankin
Richard Woodcraft

Breakthrough Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by Genelec
Manon Grandjean
Andrew Hunt
Jack Ruston

Mix Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by Solid State Logic
Tom Elmhirst
Mark ‘Spike’ Stent
Cenzo Townshend

Mastering Engineer Of The Year, sponsored by Prism Sound
John Davis
Barry Grint
Mandy Parnell

Remixer of the Year
Disclosure (Howard & Guy Lawrence)
Matthew Herbert

UK Album Of The Year
Black Star – David Bowie
Love and Hate – Michael Kiwanuka
A Moon Shaped Pool – Radiohead

UK Single Song Release Of The Year, sponsored by Shure
This Is What Your Came For – Calvin Harris feat. Rihanna
Burn The Witch – Radiohead
Pillowtalk – ZAYN

Studio Of The Year
Abbey Road Studios
British Grove Studios
RAK Studios

The A&R Award
Toby L & Tim Dellow (Transgressive Records)
Bart McDonagh (Domino Records)
Nigel Reeve (Warner Music International)

The winner of the Outstanding Contribution to UK Music Award, sponsored by PPL, will be announced soon, while the MPG Inspiration Award and the Special Recognition Award will be announced at the ceremony in February.

Tickets for the 2017 MPG Awards are now on sale. For info and bookings, please see