Musicians honoured in New Year’s Honours List 2019

Composer Nitin Sawhney (pictured), Pink Floyd drummer Nick Mason and classical violinist Nicola Benedetti are among the musicians recognised in the 2019 Queen’s New Year’s Honours List.

Sawhney and Benedetti have been appointed CBEs for their services to music. Scottish-born Benedetti was previously made an MBE in 2013.

Drummer Mason has also been appointed a CBE, while Mike Peters, lead singer of The Alarm, is now an MBE for his work for cancer charities in North Wales and abroad.

Elsewhere, choral conductors David Hill and Stephen Darlington were both given MBEs, alongside pianist Christian Blackshaw and singer-songwriter Gordon Giltrap.

Others acknowledged for their services to music include Shirley Thompson, composer, artistic director and educator, and Tommy Smith, head of jazz, at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland, both of whom received OBEs.

Neil Warnock, United Talent Agency’s global head of touring, was appointed an MBE, while anti-secondary ticketing campaigner Claire Turnham, founder of the Victim Of Viagogo group, was awarded an MBE for services to consumer rights.

To see the full list, see

Share this

Subscribe to our RSS Feed