Music+Sound Awards 2018 shortlist revealed

music+sound awards

Composers Dan Jones, Frank Ilfman, Jacob Shea and David Fleming are among the talent nominated for the 2018 Sound+Music Awards.

Multi-award-winning Jones is up for the Best Original Composition in a Television Programme Score for his music to The Miniaturist. The score also scooped him Best TV Soundtrack at The Ivors earlier this year.

Ilfman’s score to Ghost Stories has been tipped for the Best Original Composition in a Feature Film Score trophy.

Shea, Fleming and Hans Zimmer are all nominated in the Best Original Composition in a Television Programme Score category for their music to David Attenborough’s Blue Planet II. Read more on how they created the music here.

Nominees across 38 categories were chosen by an international jury made up of music and sound design professionals.

Winners will be announced on 10 July at 4pm.

Emma Maguire, managing director of the Sound+Music Awards, said: ‘The engagement and enthusiasm that we have seen this year sets us up for another fantastic competition. This year’s entries have been exceptional, making it a difficult task to judge. We’d like to greatly thank all the entrants and welcome the new participants to our community.

‘We congratulate all the finalists and we hope they feel proud that their work has endured such rigorous inspection from our brilliantly accomplished jury! Very best of luck to them all.’

For the full list of nominees, see

Share this

Subscribe to our RSS Feed