New wave of music creators join PRS Board

Renowned music creators Tom Gray, Crispin Hunt and Philip Pope have been newly appointed as writer directors of the Performing Right Society (PRS).

They join Barry Blue, Michelle Escoffery and Steve Levine, who have all been reappointed to the PRS Board at the society’s 2019 Annual General Meeting (AGM).

Antony Bebawi became a new publisher director, alongside Jackie Alway, Simon Anderson, Chris Butler and Richard King, who have all been reappointed.

Gray is best known as a founding member and leading writer of multi-award-winning band Gomez.

With nearly 20 years of professional composition behind him, he currently scores for film, TV and advertising.

A committed advocate for creators, he sits on the Songwriter Committee and Policy Working Group of The Ivors Academy and is a writer/artist advocate for the Featured Artists Coalition.

Hunt, former lead singer of Brit-pop band Longpigs, is a multi-platinum-selling songwriter and record producer, chair of The Ivors Academy and member of the UK Intellectual Property Office Advisory Panel.

His writing credits include tracks with Jake Bugg, Rihanna, Florence and The Machine, Lana Del Ray, Ellie Goulding, Maverick Sabre, Newton Faulkner, Natalie Imbruglia, Bat For Lashes, JP Cooper and Rod Stewart.

Pope is an accomplished composer and songwriter with a diverse list of credits to his name.

During his long career, he has written music for film, television, radio and theatre, including Benidorm (ITV), Horizon: Antarctica (BBC), Deluge (C4), The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy (BBC Radio 4), and ITV’s Spitting Image, culminating in number one hit, The Chicken Song.

He has also developed a long working partnership with Harry Enfield and Paul Whitehouse, and has written for Fry & Laurie, Lenny Henry, Ben Elton and Dame Edna Everage.

Bebawi is executive vice president, digital and society relations international and UK, at Sony/ATV.

He heads up a team that manages the publisher’s licensing arrangements with digital services, oversees relations with collective rights management organisations, and advises on regulatory and public policy matters.

Welcoming all the new directors to the board, PRS chairman, Nigel Elderton, said: ‘It’s an absolute pleasure to welcome new directors Antony, Crispin, Philip and Tom to the board.

‘As an organisation that is governed by its members, for its members, it is wonderful to have them guiding PRS forward as we continue to build on its investments and successes. Their insights and experience in the music business will be invaluable to our mission.’