Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2015 shortlist announced

Parliamentary Jazz awardsGeorgia Mancio, Zara McFarlane and Loose Tubes are among the artists nominated for the Parliamentary Jazz Awards 2015.

Taking place at the House of Commons, Terrace Pavilion on Tuesday 10 March, the event is sponsored by music licensing company PPL and looks to celebrate the UK jazz scene’s most exciting players and writers.

Peter Leathem, chief executive officer at PPL, said: ‘We at PPL are delighted to continue our long standing relationship with the All Party Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group (APPJAG) and to be the main sponsor of these awards.

‘I would like to extend my personal thanks and appreciation to Michael Connarty MP and to Lord Colwyn for doing such a fantastic job in co-chairing and running APPJAG as well as my thanks to Bob Blizzard.’

Following the online public vote for the awards via the Jazz Services website, the shortlist was then voted upon by the selection panel.

The full list of nominees is below;

Jazz vocalist of the year              

Alice Zawadzki
Georgia Mancio
Norma Winstone MBE
Zara McFarlane

Jazz instrumentalist of the year

Jason Yarde
Laura Jurd
Phil Robson

Jazz album of the year

Partisans – Swamp
Julian Argüelles – Circularity
Tim Garland – Songs to the North Sky

Jazz ensemble of the year            

Engines Orchestra
Loose Tubes

Jazz newcomer of the year            

Blue-Eyed Hawk
Elliot Galvin Trio
Peter Edwards

Jazz venue of the year  

Manchester Jazz Festival
Spice of Life
St Ives Jazz Club

Jazz media award    

Jazz on 3, BBC Radio 3
London Jazz News
The Jazz Breakfast

Jazz education award                    

Dr. Tommy Smith
National Youth Jazz Orchestra
Simon Purcell

Services to jazz award                    

Chris Hodgkins
Evan Parker
Mike Gordon