Paul Epworth named producer of the year

Paul Epworth - MPG Awards 2013Paul Epworth has been named as the producer of the year at the 2013 Musician Producer’s Guild (MPG) awards.

Paul was given the prize for his production work on Florence + The Machine’s second album Ceremonials – the prize also automatically earns him the BRIT Award for best producer.

Charlie Andrew, producer with Micachu and The Shapes and Mercury Music Prize winning Alt-J and Charlie Hugall, producer with Florence + The Machine and Razorlight, were among the new studio hands honoured alongside industry veterans such as Sir George Martin and Alan Moulder.

Florence Welch backed Paul Epworth’s nomination – she said: ‘I knew Paul was the only producer I wanted to work with on Ceremonials. His work on Lungs really stood out for me, especially Cosmic Love, but he really surpassed himself on Ceremonials.

‘He took what we had started on Lungs to stratospheric heights, without fear or compromise, and secured Florence + The Machine a singular sound. His innovation and passion are constantly inspiring.’

Steve Levine, chairman of the MPG, praise the quality of the current crop of British producers – he added: ‘When it comes to talent and creativity, British music production has a long legacy that is internationally recognised and respected.’

The full list of MPG winners is below:

UK Producer of the Year, sponsored by The BRIT Awards 2013:
Paul Epworth

Recording Engineer of the Year, sponsored by RØDE
Al O’Connell

Mix Engineer of the Year, sponsored by Solid State Logic:
Alan Moulder

Mastering Engineer of the Year, sponsored by Radial:
Matt Colton

Live Production of the Year, sponsored by Shure:
Bon Iver at AIR Studios

UK Album of the Year, sponsored by Sontronics:
Florence + The Machine – Ceremonials

UK Single Song Release of the Year, sponsored by sE Electronics:
The Maccabees – Pelican

Remixer of the Year, sponsored by Akai Professional:

Breakthrough Producer of the Year, in association with Sound on Sound, sponsored by Focusrite:
Charlie Andrew

Breakthrough Engineer of the Year, sponsored by Genelec:
Charlie Hugall

International Producer of the Year, sponsored by British Grove Studios:
Danger Mouse

International Recording Engineer of the Year, sponsored by KMR Audio:
Tchad Blake

Studio of the Year, sponsored by Pro Sound News Europe:
Snap! Studios

The A&R Award, sponsored by Thermionic Culture:
Richard Russell

The Unsung Hero Award, sponsored by Audient:
Rebecca la Porta & Paul Walmsley

The MPG Innovation Award, presented by the Music Producers Guild

The MPG Inspiration Award, sponsored by Prism Sound:
Glyn Johns

The Outstanding Contribution to UK Music, sponsored by PPL:
Sir George Martin CBE