Production Music Awards 2018 winners announced

John Clifford - Senior Vice President Global - Sales, Marketing & Repertoire / Managing Director U.K - BMG Production Music

BMG Production Music (BMGPM) led the winners at the Production Music Awards 2018, receiving a record nine wins in its first year of entering.

The production music company – which services the broadcast, advertising, radio, and games industries with a curated catalogue of over 200,000 tracks – picked up five awards for its own labels and four for its third-party labels, across nine of the 20 categories.

Among the accolades, it took home Best Trailer Production Music Track (Rolf Anton Krueger’s The Promise), Best Use Of Production Music In A Television Trailer (Last Ray Of Light as featured in the Stranger Things 2 trailer) and Best Use Of Production Music In A Film Trailer (The Inquisitor as featured in The Shape Of Water trailer).

John Clifford, BMGPM UK managing director and senior vice president of global sales, marketing and repertoire (pictured above left), said: ‘It’s great to see BMGPM’s team of music makers from around the world – composers, producers and label partners – recognised with wins across both our wholly-owned and third-party labels at this event.

‘Production music is rarely in the limelight and we’ve always considered ourselves the hidden hitmakers, priding ourselves on creative integrity and excellence – so we’re honoured to have been acknowledged at the Production Music Awards.’

Geert-Willem Koolhof, BMGPM global managing director, added: ‘The Production Music Awards is a prestigious event in our industry’s calendar and I’m delighted with the achievement, considering we are two years in as BMGPM.

‘My congratulations to all the nominees and winners! I’m proud to work with such a great, creative and talented team and group of composers, producers and label partners.’

The Production Music Awards celebrates the best production music libraries and most talented composers from all over the world. It’s hosted in association with MCPS Production Music and sponsored by PRS for Music, PRS Foundation, the Musicians’ Union, Spitfire Audio, Klineberg and WMP.

This year’s ceremony took place on Friday (23 November) at London’s 8 Northumberland Avenue.

To see the full list of winners, visit