Progressive Music Award 2015 winners

Public Service BroadcastingPublic Service Broadcasting and Steven Wilson were among the winners at the Progressive Music Award 2015 winners.

Steven, frontman of British prog rockers Porcupine Tree and now acclaimed solo artist was one of the big winners, picking up three prizes for album of the year, commercial breakthrough and box set design.

The former received the prize for best anthem, Gagarin, at the event at Shakespeare’s Globe Theatre.

Jerry Ewing, editor of Prog Magazine, said: ‘What a terrific night and what a spread of artists, not just showing what great talent the progressive world has to offer for the past 40 years, but how strong the breed of progressive artists are getting as well.

‘I can’t even begin to imagine where we go with the Progressive Music Awards next year.’

Prog Magazine recently teamed up with the Official Charts Company to launch the UK’s first Official Progressive Albums Chart. Australian psyche rockers Tame Impala are currently top.

The full list of winners for the awards is below:

Limelight (for up-and-coming bands): Heights
Live event: Marillion Weekends
Vanguard (for acts who deserve wider recognition): Purson
Anthem: Public Service Broadcasting – Gagarin
The Storm Thorgerson grand design (box set design): Steven Wilson – Hand. Cannot. Erase.
Album of the year: Steven Wilson – Hand. Cannot. Erase.
Band of the year: Opeth
Commercial breakthrough: Steven Wilson
Outer Limits: Roy Wood
Virtuoso: Danny Thompson
Guiding light: Roger Dean
Visionary: Holger Czukay/Be Bop Deluxe
Lifetime achievement: Gentle Giant
Prog God: Tony Banks