PRS Foundation launches Oram Awards

prs foundation logo

PRS Foundation and the New BBC Radiophonic Workshop have launched the Oram Awards to celebrate innovative female music makers.

Named after Daphne Oram, one of the founding members of the original BBC Radiophonic Workshop, the awards focus on innovation in sound, music and associated technologies.

Two winners, who will be announced shortly, will receive special commendations and PRS Foundation talent development bursaries of £1,000 each. A further six winners will each receive talent development bursaries of £500 from PRS Foundation.

The judging panel for the awards will include singer Roisin Murphy, mastering engineer Mandy Parnell and representatives from The New BBC Radiophonic Workshop, PRS Foundation and The Daphne Oram Foundation.

The awards ceremony will take place on Saturday 3 June at the Turner Contemporary Margate as part of Canterbury Christchurch University’s Oscillate Festival.

Matthew Herbert, The New Radiophonic Workshop creative director, said: ‘One of the best aspects of the original workshop was the opportunity it gave to women in a field traditionally dominated by men.

‘In 2017, it’s frankly embarrassing to say that it’s still a battle that needs to be fought. These awards and this initiative is hopefully one way for us to find the next generation of innovators out there and give them not only support but also an outlet for their work and ideas.’

Vanessa Reed, PRS Foundation chief executive, added: ‘The Oram Awards are a fantastic way to put a spotlight on the next generation of talented female music and sound innovators in the UK today whilst also recognising the important legacy of Daphne Oram. I’m very much looking forward to discovering the work of the shortlisted music creators and the impact our talent development bursaries will have on their careers.’

Daphne Oram worked at the workshop with others including Delia Derbyshire, Glynis Jones, Jenyth Worsley, Maddalena Fagandini and Elizabeth Parker.