Radio Academy Awards 2014 announces shortlist

Radio Academy logoGuy Garvey, Alex James and Scroobius Pip are among the artists shortlisted for prizes at this year’s Radio Academy Awards.  

The Elbow frontman’s BBC Radio 6 Music show was nominated alongside Scroobius Pip’s XFM London and XFM Manchester for music radio broadcaster of the year.

Alex James’s Magical Music Tour on Classic FM was shortlisted as best music programme and best entertainment programme.

The winners of the 32nd Radio Academy Awards will be announced at a ceremony on 12 May at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel. 32 prizes at this year’s event are up for grabs.

Paul Robinson, chief executive officer of the Radio Academy, said: ‘These awards continue to set the gold standard for the UK radio industry and uniquely embrace everyone, from big established personalities and stations to fresh new talent and local radio stations.

‘The impressive breadth of the Radio Academy Awards nominations, in every sense, further proves that excellence is being achieved at every level.’

Visit to view the full list of nominated presenters and programmes.