Royal Philharmonic Society Awards 2019 shortlist revealed

Anna Meredith (pictured), Clara Iannotta and Rebecca Saunders are among the composers shortlisted for the 30th annual Royal Philharmonic Society (RPS) Awards.

Among the other composers nominated across various categories including Large Scale Composition and Chamber Scale Composition are Tansy Davies, Julian Anderson and George Benjamin.

Elsewhere, rising talents Castalian String Quartet, The Hermes Experiment and Sheku Kanneh-Mason receive a nod in the Young Artists category.

Two initiatives shortlisted this year celebrate and empower disabled musicians: the British Paraorchestra’s The Nature of Why and Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra’s Resound, which are in nominated for the Concert Series and Events, and Ensemble awards respectively.

The winners will be announced at the RPS Awards on 28 November, held for the first time at Battersea Arts Centre in London, and presented in association with BBC Radio 3.

Two further honours will be revealed at the event – the winners of the RPS Gold Medal and Gamechanger Award, a new accolade recognising an individual, group or organisation who has broken new ground in classical music.

James Murphy, new RPS chief executive, said: ‘The RPS Awards are a fantastic chance for music lovers nationally to discover who has made an extraordinary impact in the last year, and who to follow in the years ahead.

‘There are so many inspirational artists and initiatives to discover on this year’s shortlist, collectively illustrating the vibrant role classical music plays enriching the United Kingdom.’

See the full shortlist here.


Share this

Subscribe to our RSS Feed