Scottish Album of the Year shortlist announced

scottish album of the year awardErrors, Belle and Sebastian and Slam are among the acts to be named in the Scottish Album of the Year (SAY) shortlist.

The ten acts on the shortlist were revealed in a SAY event in Glasgow last night (28 May).

Paolo Nutini’s Caustic Love made the shortlist following a 72 hour public vote. The other nine artists were chosen by a panel of judges.

Stewart Henderson, chair of the SMIA, said: ‘Reducing the SAY Award longlist to a shortlist of 10 is never an easy task but by all accounts this year’s process has been particularly painful. We can only wish the remaining titles the very best of luck and congratulate them on emerging from such an extraordinary crop of albums.’

This year’s winner of the SAY Award will be unveiled on Wednesday 17 June. Last year’s winners were Young Fathers with their record Tape Two.

The shortlist is below:

Belle and Sebastian – Girls In Peacetime Want To Dance
Errors – Lease of Life
Happy Meals – Apèro
Honeyblood – Honeyblood
Kathryn Joseph – Bones You Have Thrown Me And Blood I’ve Spilled
Paolo Nutini – Caustic Love (public vote winner)
PAWS – Youth Culture Forever
Slam – Reverse Proceed
The Amazing Snakeheads – Amphetamine Ballads
Young Fathers – DEAD