Scottish Album of the Year unveils nominees

scottish album of the year awardCalvin Harris, Malcolm Middleton and Django Django are among the acts nominated for this year’s Scottish Album of the Year (SAY) Awards.

The event, which is in its second year, is organised by the Scottish Music Industry Association and aims to highlight the best Scottish music regardless of genre.

Music industry experts, tastemakers and commentators put together the initial SAY long-list. A public vote concluding on 27 May will see one act added to the shortlist with a panel deciding the other nine nominees.

The eventual winner will be announced at an awards ceremony 20 June at Glasgow Barrowlands.

Nominee Malcolm Middleton: ‘I am frankly shocked at being nominated. There’s a lot of good new, innovative and enjoyable music coming out of Scotland right now so I’m fortunate to have been accidentally lumped in with all of that.

‘I’m especially pleased the nomination’s for Human Don’t Be Angry, as it’s an album that’s very dear to me and which I feel is the highlight of my musical career so far. Besides, when I don’t win it’ll be my alter-ego that’s lost, not me.’

Bill Wells and Aidan Moffat were winners of the inaugural Scottish Album of the Year Award – they collected the £20,000 prize with their Everything is Getting Older record.

The full list of 2013 nominations is below:

Admiral Fallow – Tree Bursts In Snow
Auntie Flo – Future Rhythm Machine
Calvin Harris – 18 Months
Dam Mantle – Brothers Fowl
Django Django – Django Django
Duncan Chisholm – Affric
Emeli Sandé – Our Version Of Events
Errors – Have Some Faith In Magic
Karine Polwart – Traces
Konrad Wiszniewski & Euan Stevenson – New Focus
Lau – Race The Loser
Meursault – Something For The Weakened
Miaoux Miaoux – Light Of The North
Malcolm Middleton – Human Don’t Be Angry
Paul Buchanan – Mid Air
PAWS – Cokefloat!
RM Hubbert – Thirteen Lost & Found
Stanley Odd – Reject
The Twilight Sad – No One Can Ever Know
The Unwinding Hours – Afterlives