Scottish Album of the Year Award longlist revealed

SAY album of the year

Hudson Mohawke, Auntie Flo and Emma Pollock are among the artists named in the Scottish Album of the Year (SAY) longlist.

Run by the Scottish Music Industry Association (SMIA), the competition will see the winning artist receiving £20,000 first prize with nine other titles benefitting to the tune of £1,000.

Other artists named on the longlist include Primal Scream, Anna Meredith, Steve Mason and Django Django. Previous winners Young Fathers are nominated, and there’s a first time nod to Mercury Music Prize 2015 nominee C Duncan.

From Monday (May 16) fans will be able to stream one of the 20 nominated albums each day at for four weeks. Music fans will also get their say with a 72-hour public vote from June 13-15.  The album with the most public votes will secure an automatic place on the SAY Award shortlist of 10, with the other nine titles chosen by an independent panel of judges.

The SAY Award winner will be unveiled on Wednesday, June 29 at a ceremony in Paisley Town Hall.

The SAY Award 2016 longlist is below:

Admiral Fallow – Tiny Rewards
Auntie Flo – Theory Of Flo
CHVRCHES – Every Open Eye
C Duncan – Architect
Django Django – Born Under Saturn
Dunedin Consort – J.S. Bach Magnificat
Hector Bizerk – The Waltz Of Modern Psychiarty
Jarlath Henderson – Hearts Broken, Heads Turned
Lau – The Bell That Never Rang
Steve Mason – Meet The Humans
Anna Meredith – Varmints
Miaoux MiaouxSchool of Velocity
Hudson Mohawke – Lantern
Iain Morrison – Eas
Emma Pollock – In Search Of Harperfield
The Revenge – Love That Will Not Die
Primal Scream – Chaosmosis
Rachel Sermanni – Tied To The Moon
Young Fathers White Men Are Black Men Too