Scottish Album of the Year nominees announced

scottish album of the year awardBiffy Clyro, Boards of Canada and Young Fathers are among the nominees for this year’s Scottish Album of the Year (SAY) awards.

According to organisers, the winning act will receive £20,000 and be unveiled on 19 June at a ceremony at Glasgow Barrowland.

Edwyn Collins and Mogwai were also among the Scottish acts to be nominated for the award.

John Williamson, who chaired the judging panel this year, said: ‘This year’s longlist had the widest range of music – in terms of genre – in the prize’s three year history. While this could have been a problem, each of the shortlisted albums had considerable support among the judging panel.

‘It is also really striking that while this is a Scottish album prize, all of these are albums that neither hide nor particularly flaunt their Scottishness: many are the result of collaborations well beyond Scottish borders, and similarly their audiences, and potential audiences, are scattered throughout the world.’

The judging panel for this year’s award were: John McLaughlin (musician); Kevin Williamson (Neu Reekie); Nicola Meighan (journalist); Kath Mainland (Edinburgh Festival Fringe); Claire Sawers (journalist); Amanda Millen (goNORTH Festival); Jill Rodger (Glasgow International Jazz Festival); Andrew Weatherall (DJ and producer); Craig Armstrong (musician); Will Fitzpatrick (journalist) and John Williamson (academic).

The full list of nominees is below:

Biffy Clyro – Opposites
Boards of Canada – Tomorrow’s Harvest
CHVRCHES – The Bones Of What You Believe
Edwyn Collins – Understated
Hector Bizerk – Nobody Seen Nothing
Mogwai – Les Revenants
RM Hubbert – Breaks & Bone
Steve Mason – Monkey Minds in The Devil’s Time
The Pastels – Slow Summits
Young Fathers – Tape Two

Check out recent interviews with nominees Mogwai and Stephen McRobbie from the Pastels.